Research Guides: *History: Getting Started with History

Best Bets for History

Oxford Bibliographies
Annotated bibliographies from modules like Renaissance and Reformation and Atlantic History give you the most influential, noteworthy sources by topic.

Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
World history (except U.S. and Canada) journal articles. Historical period: 1450 to present. Publication dates: 1954 to present.

Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Topical bibliographies in the humanities and social sciences. Oxford Bibliography
Oxford Bibliographies offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on specific topics in a growing range of subject areas. There are at least 50 specific topical bibliographies in each subject area. Each of these features an introduction to the topic. Bibliographies are browsable by subject area and are keyword searchable.
Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new window
Collection of authoritative histories.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography This link opens in a new window
Biographies of the men and women who shaped British history; includes illustrations Publication dates: Antiquity to 2003
Limited to one user at a time

Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
World history (except U.S. and Canada) journal articles. Historical period: 1450 to present. Publication dates: 1954 to present.
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
U.S. and Canadian history journal articles. Citations with links to full text. Publication dates: 1964 to present america history and life ahl
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Humanities, social sciences, and science full text journals. Recent years not included.
Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window
Gender studies journal articles.
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Humanities and social sciences journals. Citations with links to full text. Publication dates: 1907-1984

LibrarySearch
Books and ebooks in the Bates, Colby, and Bowdoin collections can be searched in LibrarySearch. Books located at Colby or Bowdoin can be obtained by the "CBB Request" link visible once you sign in.

MaineCat This link opens in a new window
Combined catalogs of public and academic libraries across the state of Maine; check here if CBB does not have the book you need. Good resource for popular literature.
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
A union catalog of books and other materials in libraries in the U.S. and around the world. world cat oclc firstsearch first search

HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Books, journals, newspapers, and other print materials scanned by many of the largest research libraries in the US.
Collection is full text searchable. Materials in the public domain are available for reading online. Copyrighted materials are not available in full text, but often indicate page numbers where words occur. Includes many US government documents. hathi trust
Google Books This link opens in a new window
Searchable (and frequently downloadable) full text books that are in the public domain. Materials still under copyright can be searched and will provide page numbers and occasionally snippets of text.