Research Guides: *History: News and Newspapers

Historical News

17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Early English primary sources, including newspapers, pamphlets, and books. seventeenth and eighteenth century burney
African American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Black newspapers. Publication dates: 1827-1998
America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Local and national newspapers from all 50 states. Publication dates: 1690-1999.
British Library Newspapers This link opens in a new window
National and regional newspapers of Britain. Publication dates: 1800 to 1950.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Newspapers from 1836-1963 (most pre-1925) and a directory of American newspapers published between 1690 and the present.
Hispanic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Spanish-language and English-language newspapers published in the U.S. by Latinx communities. Publication dates: 1808-1980 hispanic newspapers latino
Latin American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Series 1. Publication dates: Ca. 1805-1922
Times Digital Archive (London; 1785-2008) This link opens in a new window
Full-text, searchable digital copy of The Times of London. Includes every headline, article, editorial, announcement, image and advertisement.
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports 1941-1996 This link opens in a new window
Translated newspaper articles as well as radio and television broadcasts from non-U.S. news sources.
Irish Times and The Weekly Irish Times (Dublin; 1859-2019) This link opens in a new window
Includes scanned PDFs of pages, articles, images and advertisements.
Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new window
Arts, humanities, social sciences journals with full text. Publication dates: 19th-20th century.

Maine and the Northeast

Maine News This link opens in a new window
Major newspapers from across the state of Maine. Publication dates: Varies, ca. 1992-current
Maine News Index Online This link opens in a new window
News article citations to select Maine newspapers. Publication dates: 1992-present.
This database of Maine newspaper and magazine abstracts has been maintained by the library staff at the Portland Public Library. Coverage varies for each publication. Titles included are Biz (1995-1997); Casco Bay Weekly (1992-2002); Down East (1993-present); Evening Express (misc.); Island Journal (1984-present); Maine Sunday Telegram (1993-2004); Maine Times (1993-2002); Mainebiz (1998-present); Portland Evening Express (misc.); Portland Monthly (1988-present); Portland Phoenix (1999 -present); Portland Press Herald (1993-2004); Portland Sunday Telegram (misc.); Profile (1992-1995); Salt (1974-present)
Lewiston Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Lewiston Daily Evening Journal; Lewiston Daily Sun; Lewiston Evening Journal; Lewiston Falls Journal; Lewiston Journal; Lewiston Sun Journal; Sun-Journal (Lewiston, Maine); Publication dates: 1861 to current
Links to electronic versions of the Sun-Journal available through library databases, and to library catalog records of historic Lewiston newspapers available on microfilm at Bates College. **NOTE: Searching/Indexing is available from the Sun-Journal for material not published online. Be as specific as possible with requests, as there are charges for searches, payable in advance. Call Customer Service at 784-5411, M-F 8AM-4:30PM. Lewiston Daily Sun is available at: Lewiston Public Library (1904-1989), Auburn Public Library (1902-1989), and the University of Maine - Orono.
Bangor Daily News (1836-present) This link opens in a new window
Bangor Daily Whig & Courier (1836-1900) and Bangor Daily News (1836-present), with some exceptions.
Boston Globe (1997-present) This link opens in a new window
Text only. Does not include page images. Publication dates: 1987 to present
Boston Globe (1980-1996) This link opens in a new window
Text only. Does not include page images. Publication dates: 1980-1996
Boston Globe (1872-1990) This link opens in a new window
Includes PDFs of pages and articles.
New York Times (1980-current) This link opens in a new window
Searchable full text version of the Late Edition (East Coast). Does not include images or advertising. Publication dates: 1980 to current
New York Times (1851-2018) This link opens in a new window
This version offers scanned copies of every available page and every article in the newspaper. Includes all images and advertisements.

Current News

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Full-text news, law, and business-related research. Publication dates: Varies by titles; 1980s to the present. L/N lexis nexis nexus lexus lexisnexis
Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Newspapers, broadcast transcripts, wire service reports and international news sources. Includes New York Times. Publication dates: 1977 to current
ProQuest News and Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Newspapers, broadcast transcripts, and wire service reports including NYT, Boston Globe, LA Times and Washington Post. 1850 to Current; varies with each title
Google News Archive This link opens in a new window
Historical newspaper archives of selected newspapers. Some sites require a paid subscription, but many are free.
Online Newspaper Directory for the World This link opens in a new window
Listing of 10,000 newspapers from around the world, searchable by country and then by publication. Includes access to many U.S. and Maine newspapers.
Los Angeles Times (1996 to current) This link opens in a new window
Publication dates: December 4, 1996 to current
Los Angeles Times (1881-1997) This link opens in a new window
Scanned version of print edition, including all images and advertisements.