It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
*History: Secondary Sources
Suggested resources for the broad study of global history, from pre-modern periods to the present.
World history (except U.S. and Canada) journals. Historical coverage: 1450 to present. Journal coverage: 1954 to present.
Historical Abstracts is a reference guide to the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life). This database offers annotated references to information on topics from the Renaissance to the present. Over 2,000 journals published throughout the world are covered in the database. In addition to including the key historical journals from virtually every major country, it includes a selection of hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities that are of special interest to researchers and students of history.
U.S. and Canadian history journal articles. Coverage: 1964 to present america history and life ahl
America: History and Life is the primary bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present, covering over 2,000 journals published worldwide. In addition to key English-language historical journals, the coverage includes selected journals from major countries, state, and local history journals, and a selection of journals in the social sciences and humanities. In addition to articles, the database includes book and media reviews and citations to abstracts of dissertations.
Humanities, social sciences, and science journals Coverage: Archive and Embargo: 3-6 years
JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization with a dual mission to create and maintain an archive of important scholarly journals, and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible. Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences.
Gender studies journal articles. Coverage: 1972 and earlier to the present.
Combines Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues. Source documents include professional journals, conference papers, theses & dissertations and other sources.
Humanities and social sciences journals. Coverage: 1907-1984
This article index offers the ability to search a wide range of important journals in the humanities and social sciences as far back as 1907. Subjects include: communications & mass media, criminal justice, anthropology, economics, art, film, environmental studies, archaeology, international relations, law, literary & social criticism, literature, music, performing arts, planning & public administration, political science, sociology, religion & theology, gender studies, gerontology, psychiatry & psychology, addiction studies, urban studies
Topical bibliographies in the humanities and social sciences. Oxford Bibliography
Oxford Bibliographies offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on specific topics in a growing range of subject areas. There are at least 50 specific topical bibliographies in each subject area. Each of these features an introduction to the topic. Bibliographies are browsable by subject area and are keyword searchable.
Books in the Bates library are accessed from CBBcat, the catalog of the shared collections of Colby, Bates, and Bowdoin libraries. Limiting the search from "Entire CBB Collection" to "Bates" will show what is available here. Books located at Colby or Bowdoin can be obtained by the "CBB Request" button at the top of the page.
All subjects; a union catalog of books and other materials. 11th century to present world cat oclc firstsearch first search
WorldCat is a union catalog of records of any type of material (books, periodicals, scores, films, recordings, etc.) cataloged by over 41,000 OCLC (Online Computer Library Center) member libraries, primarily but not exclusively, from libraries in the United States, but extending to 82 other nations. There are more than 47 million records in the WorldCat database.
Digitized book beyond CBBcat
While many useful and informative books are readily available in the CBB collection, there are many books available online. The links below will go to digitized material.
Digital collection of books, journals, newspapers, and other print materials scanned by member libraries (including many of the largest research libraries in the US). Coverage: Ca. 1500 to present
Collection is full text searchable. Materials in the public domain are available for reading online. Copyrighted materials are not available in full text, but often indicate page numbers where words occur. Includes many US government documents. hathi trust