EUHI 245 - Race, Gender, and Power in the Early Modern Atlantic World - *History

Article Indexes

Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
World history (except U.S. and Canada) journal articles. Historical period: 1450 to present. Publication dates: 1954 to present.
Handbook of Latin American Studies: HLAS This link opens in a new window
Books and articles related to Latin America, with annotations. Publication dates: 1936 to present. Direct full text linking is limited.
Africa Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Books and journal articles on Africa. Citations with links to full text. Publication dates: 1984 to present (recent years not included)

Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
The OED is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history and pronunciation of over half a million words, from across the English-speaking world.
The online Oxford English Dictionary contains the complete A to Z sequence of the Second Edition, its three-volume Additions Series, and draft material produced in the progress towards the Third Edition. The OED is an historical dictionary of English. It aims to show not only the current meanings of words, but also to trace their development through time. Entries contain detailed etymological analysis and are illustrated by quotations from a wide range of English language sources from around the world. Revised and new entries will be added to the online Dictionary every quarter. The full text, definitions, etymologies, and quotations are all searchable.
New Dictionary of the History of Ideas This link opens in a new window
Overviews of the origin and cultural interpretations of subjects such as beauty, love, feminism, diversity, and social capital, and others in Western thought and culture.

Oxford African American Studies Center This link opens in a new window
Short essays, biographies, and primary sources on Black history and culture. Includes African American National Biography, Black Women in America, and Encyclopedia of African American History among others.
Limited to one user at a time.
Dictionary of Caribbean and Afro–Latin American Biography This link opens in a new window
Biographies of historically significant Caribbeans and Afro-Latin Americans.
American National Biography This link opens in a new window
Biographies of prominent Americans, including images and bibliographies. Limited to one user at a time.

Oxford Research Encyclopedia of African History This link opens in a new window
Essays on topics in African history, with bibliographies.
Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Latin American History This link opens in a new window
Authoritative essays with bibliographies.
Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Topical bibliographies in the humanities and social sciences. Oxford Bibliography
Oxford Bibliographies offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on specific topics in a growing range of subject areas. There are at least 50 specific topical bibliographies in each subject area. Each of these features an introduction to the topic. Bibliographies are browsable by subject area and are keyword searchable.