Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

CSE Citation Style

General Considerations for a CSE Bibliography

CSE Bibliographies

(CSE 8th; 29.3)

A CSE bibliography is a complete list of sources cited within the text, tables and figures that make up a document.

The order of citations in a bibliography list is determined by the choice of in-text reference style (i.e. Name-Year, Citation-Sequence, or Citation-Name; CSE 8th; 29.3.3). For information regarding the construction of bibliography citations for specific types of materials (e.g. books, journals, web sources, etc.), please refer to the respective sections of this style guide.

Name-Year (CSE 8th; 29.3.3 and 29.2.1.2):

End References (aka the bibliography) are organized alphabetically by surname of the first author. For multiple references with the with a first author of the same surname, reference order follows a letter-by-letter comparison of the first initials of the first authors and then, if necessary, the surnames and first initials of subsequent authors .

Citation-Sequence (CSE 8th; 29.3.3 and 29.2.1.1):

End References (aka the bibliography) are numbered and listed sequentially based on order of first appearance in the text.

Citation-Name (CSE 8th; 29.2.1.3):

The Citation-Name style is the least used of the three CSE In-Text citation options. In this style, after finalizing the complete list of End References (aka the bibliography), this list is alphabetized by first author surname and then numbered sequentially.

In-Text citations are then indicated throughout the text body using superscripted numbers corresponding to this alphabetized list.