Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

CSE Citation Style

Web Sources

Website Citations in CSE Bibliographies

(CSE 8th; 29.3.7.13)

Bibliography citations for websites and online documents are all formatted using the basic elements found in print documents (e.g author, title, place of publication, publisher, date of publication, and extent). However, for some web sources these elements must be expanded or supplemented with additional information.

Required citation elements include author(s), publication date, title, place of publication and publisher. It is acknowledged that not all required citation elements are present for some web sources and, if absent, these obviously can not be included in the citation. However, this should probably bring into question the validity and/or authority of the source.

If an organization appears to serve as an author, list the organization as the author.  However if no author is apparent, do not provide one in the citation.  Do not use the word "anonymous".

If a website title is not obvious, construct one use the first series of words on the screen.

Examples of citation elements that supplement those found in citations for print sources include dates and digital identifiers.

In addition to original publication dates, citations for web sources should also include the most recent revision date and the accession date of the material.

Optional citation elements include the extent (i.e. number of pages or screens; see CSE 8th; 29.3.7.13.9) as well as notes (Internet URL's and digital object identifiers (doi's), indication of language other than English).

 

Name-Year:

Author(s). Date of Publication. Title of Website. Edition. Place of publication: Publisher; [date updated; date accessed]. Extent. Notes.

2005. Beekeeping. San Francisco (CA): Wikipedia; [updated 2016 Jun 13; accessed 2016 Jun 17]. [about 17 pages]. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Beekeeping.​

 

Citation-Sequence and Citation-Name:

Citation Number. Author(s). Title of Website. Edition. Place of publication: Publisher; Date of publication [date updated; date accessed]. Extent. Notes.

1. Beekeeping. San Francisco (CA): Wikipedia; 2005 [updated 2016 Jun 13; accessed 2016 Jun 17]. [about 17 pages]. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Beekeeping.​

Online Databases in CSE Bibliographies

(CSE 8th; 29.3.7.13)

Bibliography citations for websites and online documents are all formatted using the basic elements found in print documents (e.g author, title, place of publication, publisher, date of publication, and extent). However, for some web sources these elements must be expanded or supplemented with additional information.

Required citation elements include author(s), publication date, title, place of publication and publisher. It is acknowledged that not all required citation elements are present for some web sources and, if absent, these obviously can not be included in the citation. However, this should probably bring into question the validity and/or authority of the source.

If an organization appears to serve as an author, list the organization as the author.  However if no author is apparent, do not provide one in the citation.  Do not use the word "anonymous".

If a website title is not obvious, construct one use the first series of words on the screen.

Examples of citation elements that supplement those found in citations for print sources include dates and digital identifiers.

In addition to original publication dates, citations for web sources should also include the most recent revision date and the accession date of the material.

Optional citation elements include the extent (i.e. number of pages or screens; see CSE 8th; 29.3.7.13.9) as well as notes (Internet URL's and digital object identifiers (doi's), indication of language other than English).

 

Name-Year:

Title of Database. Beginning date-ending date. Edition. Place of publication: publisher. [Date updated; Date accessed]. Notes.

Train accidents and rates. 1975 Apr 1-2016 Mar 31. Washington (D.C.): Federal Railroad Administration Office of Safety Analysis. [accessed 2016 Jun 17]. http://safetydata.fra.dot.gov/officeofsafety/publicsite/Query/TrainAccidentsFYCYWithRates.aspx.

 

Citation-Sequence and Citation-Name:

Title of Database. Edition. Place of publication: publisher. Beginning date-ending date. [Date updated; Date accessed]. Notes.

1. Train accidents and rates. Washington (D.C.): Federal Railroad Administration Office of Safety Analysis. 1975 Apr 1-2016 Mar 31. [accessed 2016 Jun 17]. http://safetydata.fra.dot.gov/officeofsafety/publicsite/Query/TrainAccidentsFYCYWithRates.aspx.

Online Images in CSE Bibliographies

(CSE 8th; 29.3.7.13)

Bibliography citations for websites and online documents are all formatted using the basic elements found in print documents (e.g author, title, place of publication, publisher, date of publication, and extent). However, for some web sources these elements must be expanded or supplemented with additional information.

Required citation elements include author(s), publication date, title, place of publication, publisher and URL. It is acknowledged that not all required citation elements are present for some web sources and, if absent, these obviously can not be included in the citation. However, this should probably bring into question the validity and/or authority of the source.

If an organization appears to serve as an author, list the organization as the author.  However if no author is apparent, do not provide one in the citation.  Do not use the word "anonymous".

If a website title is not obvious, construct one use the first series of words on the screen.

Examples of citation elements that supplement those found in citations for print sources include dates and digital identifiers.

In addition to original publication dates, citations for web sources should also include the most recent revision date and the accession date of the material.

Optional citation elements include the extent (i.e. number of pages or screens; see CSE 8th; 29.3.7.13.9) as well as notes (Internet URL's and digital object identifiers (doi's), indication of language other than English).

 

Name-Year:

Artist's name. Title (descriptive word). City (ST): Publisher or Producer; [Date accessed]. Notes. URL.

McKean D. Sphinx (painting). Kent (England): Dave McKean; [accessed 2016 Jun 17]. ISBN: 9781848726215.​ http://www.davemckean.com/wp-content/gallery/painting/SPHINX_painting.JPG.

Marshall JA. Earhart climbing out of the cockpit of her plane (gelatin silver print). New York (NY): ARTstor; [accessed 2016 Jul 6]. Located in: Schlesinger History of Women in America Collection; Photograph Number PC-29-1-1. http://library.artstor.org/library/secure/ViewImages?fs=true&id=4iFLcDwwJloxLyk7eDFwQA%3D%3D&userId=hDRGez0n&zoomparams=.

 

Citation-Sequence and Citation-Name:

Citation Number. Artist's name. Title (descriptive word). City (ST): Publisher or Producer; [Date accessed]. Notes. URL.

1.  McKean D. Sphinx (painting). Kent (England): Dave McKean; [accessed 2016 Jun 17]. ISBN: 9781848726215.​ http://www.davemckean.com/wp-content/gallery/painting/SPHINX_painting.JPG.

2. Marshall JA. Earhart climbing out of the cockpit of her plane (gelatin silver print). New York (NY): ARTstor; [accessed 2016 Jul 6]. Located in: Schlesinger History of Women in America Collection; Photograph Number PC-29-1-1. http://library.artstor.org/library/secure/ViewImages?fs=true&id=4iFLcDwwJloxLyk7eDFwQA%3D%3D&userId=hDRGez0n&zoomparams=.

Podcast/Webcast in CSE Bibliographies

(CSE 8th; 29.3.7.13)

Bibliography Podcasts and Webcasts are both formatted using basic elements very similar to those found in citations to print documents (e.g author, title, place of publication, publisher, date of publication, and extent).

Required citation elements include narrator(s), podcast/webcast episode title, podcast/webcast show title, producer, initial air date, length, access data and URL.

 

Name-Year:

Narrator's name. Initial air date. Podcast/webcast title [descriptive word, episode number (if available)]. Podcast/Webcast show title. [Date accessed]; length. URL.

Goldman A, Vogt PJ. 2016 Feb 25. Zardulu [podcast, episode 56]. Reply All. Gimlet Media. [accessed 2016 Jul 5];51:39 minutes. https://soundcloud.com/replyall/56-zardulu.

 

Citation-Sequence and Citation-Name:

Citation Number. Narrator's name. Podcast/webcast title [descriptive word, episode number (if available)]. Podcast/Webcast show title. Producer. Initial air date, length. [Date accessed]. URL.

1.  Goldman A, Vogt PJ. Zardulu [podcast, episode 56]. Reply All. Gimlet Media. 2016 Feb 25, 51:39 minutes. [accessed 2016 Jul 5]. https://soundcloud.com/replyall/56-zardulu.

Citing Online Video in CSE Bibliographies

(CSE 8th; 29.3.7.13)

Bibliography citations of Online Videos are formatted using basic elements very similar to those found in citations to print documents (e.g author, title, place of publication, publisher, date of publication, and extent).

Required citation elements include video title, title of program, video producer, initial air date, length, access date and URL .

When possible, an episode number should also be provided.

 

Name-Year:

Video title [descriptive word, episode number (if available)]. Initial air date. Program title. Producer. [Date accessed]; length. URL.

Sharks among us [video]. 2016 Jun 26. Shark Week. Discovery Channel. [accessed 2016 Jul 5];41:50 minutes. http://www.discovery.com/discovery-full-episodes/.

 

Citation-Sequence and Citation-Name:

Citation Number. Video title [descriptive word, episode number (if available)]. Program title. Producer. Initial air date, length. [Date accessed]. URL.

1.  Sharks among us [video]. Shark Week. Discovery Channel. 2016 Jun 26, 41:50 minutes. [accessed 2016 Jul 5]. http://www.discovery.com/discovery-full-episodes/.

Citing a Blog in CSE Bibliographies

(CSE 8th; 29.3.7.13)

Bibliography citations of web blogs are formatted using basic elements very similar to those found in citations to print documents (e.g author, title, place of publication, publisher, date of publication, and extent).

Required citation elements include author(s)'s name, blog post title, blog title, initial posting date, access date and URL. 

 

Name-Year:

Blog post title [descriptive word]. Posting Date. Blog title. [Date accessed]. URL.

Stuffed [blog]. 2016 Apr 1. Becky's Book Reviews. [accessed 2016 Jul 5]. http://blbooks.blogspot.com/search/label/2009.

 

Citation-Sequence and Citation-Name:

Citation Number. Blog post title [descriptive word]. Blog title. Posting Date; [Date accessed]. URL.

1.  Stuffed [blog]. Becky's Book Reviews. 2016 Apr 1; [accessed 2016 Jul 5]. http://blbooks.blogspot.com/search/label/2009.

Citing a Social Networking Site in CSE Bibliographies

(CSE 8th; 29.3.7.13)

Bibliography citations for social networking sites are formatted using basic elements very similar to those found in citations to print documents (e.g author, title, place of publication, publisher, date of publication, and extent).

Required citation elements include the username (or group/page name), name of the social network, initial post time and date (if available), access date and URL. 

 

Name-Year:

Username (or group/page name). Initial posting date and time (if available). Network name [word describing page type, post type]; [Access date]. URL.

@BatesLibrary. 2016 Jun 29, 6:34 p.m. Twitter [Tweet, retweet from @BatesCollege]; [accessed 2016 Jul 6]. https://twitter.com/BatesCollege/status/748223102329434112/photo/1?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw.

 

Citation-Sequence and Citation-Name:

Citation Number. Username (or group/page name). Network name [word describing page type, post type]. Initial posting date and time (if available). [Access date]. URL.

1.  @BatesLibraryTwitter [Tweet, retweet from @BatesCollege]. 2016 Jun 29, 6:34 p.m. [accessed 2016 Jul 6]. https://twitter.com/BatesCollege/status/748223102329434112/photo/1?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw.