*United States History American History: Primary Sources

Includes Agricultural Periodicals, 1789-1879; Alternative Faith and Philosophy Periodicals, 1789-1878; Alternative Medicine and Health, 1810-1877; American Literary Periodicals, 1782-1891; American Medicine, Surgery, Dentistry Periodicals, 1786-1877; American Political and Social Movements, 1815-1884; American Political Periodicals, 1715-1891; Baptists, Quakers, and Independent Church Periodicals, 1797-1881; Business, Industrial and Professional Periodicals; Canadian Periodicals, 1790-1877; Catholic, Lutheran, Methodist, and Episcopal Periodicals, 1797-1904; College and Student Periodicals, 1806-1877; Congregational, Presbyterian, and Reformed Church Periodicals, 1803-1902; Drama, Humor, and Fine Arts Periodicals, 1764-1877; Fireside Companions and Family Literature Periodicals, 1805-1877; Foreign Language Periodicals in America, 1684-1904; Hobbies, Socialization, and Sport Periodicals, 1775-1889; Masons, Odd-Fellows and Other Societal Periodicals, 1794-1877; Periodicals of the British Empire and Its Colonies, 1702-1879; Story Papers, Dimes and Dollar Periodicals, 1828-1877; Theology and Biblical Studies Periodicals, 1760-1877; Women's Periodicals of the Nineteenth Century

Incorporates (through 1982) the printed Nineteenth century readers' guide to periodical literature, 1890-1899, and Readers' guide to periodical literature.

Making of America (MOA) is a digital library of primary sources in American social history primarily from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology.

Full text of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. Particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology.

Includes Better Homes and Gardens, Cosmopolitan, Essence, Ladies' Home Journal, Parents, Redbook, Seventeen, and Woman's Day.

Includes Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange, British Politics and Society, British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture, Children's Literature and Childhood, Europe and Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization, and Conquest, European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection, Mapping the World: Maps and Travel Literature, Photography: The World through the Lens, Religion, Society, Spirituality, and Reform, Science, Technology, and Medicine: 1780-1925, and Women: Transnational Networks.

Collection is full text searchable. Materials in the public domain are available for reading online. Copyrighted materials are not available in full text, but often indicate page numbers where words occur. Includes many US government documents. hathi trust

North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries and Oral Histories includes 2,162 authors and approximately 100,000 pages of information, so providing a unique and personal view of what it meant to immigrate to America and Canada between 1800 and 1950. Composed of contemporaneous letters and diaries, oral histories, interviews, and other personal narratives, the series provides a rich source for scholars in a wide range of disciplines. In selected cases, users will be able to hear the actual audio voices of the immigrants.

The index contains diary entries, letter entries, and oral history entries. It also contains pointers to audio and video files and bibliographic records. Approximately one quarter of the index points to materials that are in copyright.

Combined with other sources such as city directories, photographs, small-scale maps, census records, genealogies, and statistical data, the Sanborn maps provide an unparalleled picture of life in American towns and cities. The maps provide a wealth of information, such as building outline, size and shape, windows and doors, street and sidewalk widths, boundaries, and property numbers. Plans often include details on construction materials and building use; and also depict pipelines, railroads, wells, water mains, dumps, and other features likely to affect the property's vulnerability to earthquake, fire, and flood.

Includes Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange, British Politics and Society, British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture, Children's Literature and Childhood, Europe and Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization, and Conquest, European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection, Mapping the World: Maps and Travel Literature, Photography: The World through the Lens, Religion, Society, Spirituality, and Reform, Science, Technology, and Medicine: 1780-1925, and Women: Transnational Networks.

Unlike individual subscriptions to Ancestry.com, does not include the option of developing a linked online genealogy.

A wealth of early reports, documents and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives. Originally published in approximately 13,800 bound volumes, this full-text set includes all subjects/topics that the U.S. government has researched and reported on dealing with international affairs, disasters, social issues, Indian affairs, commerce and communication, explorations, and more. Excellent searching and browsing features.

The series, which is produced by the State Department's Office of the Historian, began in 1861 and now comprises more than 350 individual volumes. The volumes published over the last two decades increasingly contain declassified records from all the foreign affairs agencies.