HIST 301I - Farm, Food, and Factory - *United States History American History

Overviews

A Companion to American Agricultural History by R. Douglas Hurt (Editor)
Published: 2022
Essays on different aspects of American agriculture.

Relevant subject headings

4-H clubs
African American farmers
Agricultural extension work
Dust storms
Farm life
Plant breeding
Sociology, Rural
United States. Land Grant Act of 1862

Advanced searches

Using the Advanced Search function in CBBcat, you can combine any of these with other terms, such as geographic terms like (Maine OR New England OR Atlantic States), or (History), or kinds of sources like:

(bibliography OR guidebooks)
(correspondence OR diaries OR "personal narratives" OR sources OR interviews OR speeches)

Other catalogs

Though you will probably start with CBBcat, don't end there.

MaineCat This link opens in a new window
Combined catalogs of public and academic libraries across the state of Maine.
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
A union catalog of books and other materials in libraries in the U.S. and around the world. world cat oclc firstsearch first search

Example sources

The Star Creek Papers by Horace Mann Bond
Location: F377.W3 B66 1997
Published: 1997
Maine Farmer
Published: 1844-1900
Maine agricultural periodical.
Yearbook of Agriculture by USDA
Location: Bates Govt Stacks A 1.10

Primary sources

Large collections of digitized books

These can be excellent sources for government publications, manuals, and other historical documents.

HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Books, journals, newspapers, and other print materials scanned by many of the largest research libraries in the US.
Collection is full text searchable. Materials in the public domain are available for reading online. Copyrighted materials are not available in full text, but often indicate page numbers where words occur. Includes many US government documents. hathi trust

Biodiversity Heritage Library
The Biodiversity Heritage Library improves research methodology by collaboratively making biodiversity literature openly available to the world as part of a global biodiversity community.
Core Historical Literature of Agriculture
Agricultural texts of 19th and 20th centuries.
HEARTH - Home Economics Archive
Books and journals in home economics.

Periodicals

For a more extensive list of general periodicals, see U.S. History - Primary Sources.

Farm, Field and Fireside
Historically significant U.S. farm weeklies published in the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries.

American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection This link opens in a new window
Historical magazines on many topics. Publication dates: 1684-1912
Includes Agricultural Periodicals, 1789-1879; Alternative Faith and Philosophy Periodicals, 1789-1878; Alternative Medicine and Health, 1810-1877; American Literary Periodicals, 1782-1891; American Medicine, Surgery, Dentistry Periodicals, 1786-1877; American Political and Social Movements, 1815-1884; American Political Periodicals, 1715-1891; Baptists, Quakers, and Independent Church Periodicals, 1797-1881; Business, Industrial and Professional Periodicals; Canadian Periodicals, 1790-1877; Catholic, Lutheran, Methodist, and Episcopal Periodicals, 1797-1904; College and Student Periodicals, 1806-1877; Congregational, Presbyterian, and Reformed Church Periodicals, 1803-1902; Drama, Humor, and Fine Arts Periodicals, 1764-1877; Fireside Companions and Family Literature Periodicals, 1805-1877; Foreign Language Periodicals in America, 1684-1904; Hobbies, Socialization, and Sport Periodicals, 1775-1889; Masons, Odd-Fellows and Other Societal Periodicals, 1794-1877; Periodicals of the British Empire and Its Colonies, 1702-1879; Story Papers, Dimes and Dollar Periodicals, 1828-1877; Theology and Biblical Studies Periodicals, 1760-1877; Women's Periodicals of the Nineteenth Century
Making of America Journals (Michigan) This link opens in a new window
Early American periodicals. Publication dates: 1846-1877
Full text of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. Particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology.

Periodicals with advertisements

Though many of our online collections of periodicals contain only the text of articles, the databases below include scans of pages, including advertisements.

Atlantic Magazine Archive (1857 to 2014) This link opens in a new window
Prominent American general interest magazine.
National Geographic Virtual Library (1888 - 2020) This link opens in a new window
National Geographic Magazine. Full color scans, including advertisements.
Women's Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
Leading women’s interest magazines. Publication dates: 19th-21st cent.
Includes Better Homes and Gardens, Cosmopolitan, Essence, Ladies' Home Journal, Parents, Redbook, Seventeen, and Woman's Day.

Archival collections

Oral history

Christine Murray

Contact:

Ladd Library 132
(207) 786-6268
cmurray2@bates.edu

I am usually at the Research Desk Mon. 10-1, Tues. 6-9, and Thurs. 1-4

Subjects: African Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Chinese, Economics, Environmental Studies, History, Japanese, Languages and Literatures, Legal Studies, Politics, Psychology, Sociology, U. S. History