Research Guides: *United States History American History: AFHI 301Q: Rebellion and the Archive

Articles

America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
U.S. and Canadian history journal articles. Citations with links to full text. Publication dates: 1964 to present america history and life ahl
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
World history (except U.S. and Canada) journal articles. Historical coverage: 1450 to present. Publication dates: 1954 to present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Humanities, social sciences, and science full text journals. Recent years not included.

Relevant Subject Headings

Any of these subjects can be combined in a CBBcat Advanced Search with Subject: diaries OR correspondence OR narratives OR sources OR speeches OR interviews to locate primary sources in published form.

The same subject headings work in WorldCat and HathiTrust, which will expand your search beyond CBB.

Getting Started with a Topic

Oxford Bibliographies
Search for "slavery" etc., to find recommended sources on scholarly topics. See bibliographies on Slave Rebellions and Slave Resistance in the New World.
The Oxford Handbook of Slavery in the Americas
Location: HT1048 .O94 2010 and online
Published: 2010

Oxford African American Studies Center This link opens in a new window
Short essays, biographies, and primary sources on Black history and culture. Includes African American National Biography, Black Women in America, and Encyclopedia of African American History among others.
Limited to one user at a time.

Primary Sources on Slavery

Primary sources on slavery in the Americas

Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive This link opens in a new window
Primary source documents related to slavery, United States and elsewhere.

Atlantic Slave Trade and Slave Life in the Americas: A Visual Record
Images from the Center for History and New Media, George Mason University
The John Carter Brown Library Digital Collections
Slave Voyages
Records of voyages and estimates of slave trade volume. Allows you to search for voyages that experienced slave rebellions.
African Voices on Slavery and the Slave Trade
Available online and as print collection (request from Bowdoin).
Mapping Marronage
Enslaved: Peoples of the Historical Slave Trade
Historical records of enslaved people.
Low Country Digital Library
Primary sources related to South Carolina.
Death or Liberty (Library of Virginia)
Online exhibit on Gabriel's Conspiracy, Nat Turner's Rebellion in Southampton County, and John Brown's Raid on Harpers Ferry.
Lapidus Slavery and Abolition Collection
Rare books and other printed material on the Atlantic slave trade

Primary sources on the Caribbean

Digital Library of the Caribbean
The Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC) is a cooperative of partners within the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean that provides users with access to Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials held in archives, libraries, and private collections.
Early Caribbean Digital Archive
Early Caribbean texts, including novels, travel narratives, natural histories, colonial documentation, obeah narratives, and slave narratives
Slave Societies Digital Archive
Images and documents from Angola, Benin, Brazil, Cape Verde, Colombia, Cuba, and Spanish Florida.
Caribbean Views (British Library)
Images, maps and texts from the 18th and 19th centuries in the former British colonies.
Marronage in Saint Domingue

Historical newspapers

America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Local and national newspapers from all 50 states. Publication dates: 1690-1999.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Newspapers from 1836-1963 (most pre-1925) and a directory of American newspapers published between 1690 and the present.

U.S. Antislavery Movement Newspapers
Slavery and Abolition, 1789-1887
Related periodicals from the collection of the American Antiquarian Society.

Primary sources on rebellions

Jamaica Unshackled
Sources related to the Sam Sharpe Rebellion and the Morant Bay Rebellion.

Slave Revolution in the Caribbean, 1789-1804 by Laurent Dubois; John D. Garrigus
Location: F1923 .D84 2006
Published: 2006
The Denmark Vesey Affair by Egerton Douglas R. Egerton (Editor); Robert L. Paquette (Editor)
Location: Available in print and online.
Published: 2017

The Nat Turner Project
Court records, newspaper articles, and pamphlets related to the Southampton revolt.

Legal aspects

Slavery, Race, and the American Legal System
Reprints of pamphlets originally published between 1700 - 1872. KF 4545.S5 A5, 4 vol.
Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law
Legal materials on slavery, including statutes and cases.

See the guide "United States History: Primary Sources" for broader list of primary sources for U.S. history.