HIST 301C - U.S. Empire - *United States History American History

Topic overviews for U.S. Empire

Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Topical bibliographies in the humanities and social sciences. Oxford Bibliography
Oxford Bibliographies offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on specific topics in a growing range of subject areas. There are at least 50 specific topical bibliographies in each subject area. Each of these features an introduction to the topic. Bibliographies are browsable by subject area and are keyword searchable.
Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Latin American History This link opens in a new window
Authoritative essays with bibliographies.

American Foreign Relations since 1600 by Robert L. Beisner; Kurt Hanson (Editor)
Location: Reference Z6465.U5 G84 2003
Published: 2003
Encyclopedia of U. S. Foreign Relations by Bruce W. Jentleson (Editor); Thomas G. Paterson (Editor); Nicholas X. Rizopoulos (Editor)
Location: Reference E183.7 .E53 1997
Published: 1997

Article Indexes

America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles on U.S. history. Allows you to search by time period.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Similar to America: History and Life, except it covers the world other than the U.S. However, when it comes to empire, borders can be crossed...
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles in humanities, social sciences, sciences.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Sciences and social sciences journal article citations. Searchable by author affiliation and citation count.

Primary sources

Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange
Primary source collections related to international relations between Asian countries and the West during the 19th century. These include government reports, diplomatic correspondence, periodicals, newspapers, treaties, trade agreements, NGO papers, and more. Scroll down to see the included collections, or just search by keyword.
more...less...
British Foreign Office: Japan Correspondence, 1856-1905 -- Dispatches from U.S. Consuls in Osaka and Hiogo (Kobe), Japan, 1868-1906 -- Dispatches from U.S. Consuls in Seoul, Korea, 1886-1906 -- Chinese Missionary Gleaner (1853-1859) -- History of the Philippine Insurrection Against the United States, 1899-1903, and Documents Relating to the War Department Project for Publishing of History, 1899-1903 -- Missionary Files: Methodist, Episcopal Church Missionary Correspondence, 1846-1912 (China, Japan, Korea) -- Notes from the Korean Legation in the United States to the Department of State, 1883-1906 -- Philippine Insurgent Records, 1896-1901, with Associated Records of the U.S. War Department, 1900-1906, 1896-1906

Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO) This link opens in a new window
Asia and the West is just one collection in NCCO, but you may find other useful primary source documents by searching across all NCCO collections.
Includes Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange, British Politics and Society, British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture, Children's Literature and Childhood, Europe and Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization, and Conquest, European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection, Mapping the World: Maps and Travel Literature, Photography: The World through the Lens, Religion, Society, Spirituality, and Reform, Science, Technology, and Medicine: 1780-1925, and Women: Transnational Networks.
Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) This link opens in a new window
Historical record of U.S. foreign policy decisions. Publication dates: 1861 to 1988. Also available via University of Wisconsin and the State Department.
The series, which is produced by the State Department's Office of the Historian, began in 1861 and now comprises more than 350 individual volumes. The volumes published over the last two decades increasingly contain declassified records from all the foreign affairs agencies.
Digital National Security Archive (DNSA) This link opens in a new window
Declassified government documents on U.S. foreign and military policy. Publication dates: 1945 to the present.
U.S. Congressional Serial Set This link opens in a new window
Reports and documents of U.S. Congress.
A wealth of early reports, documents and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives. Originally published in approximately 13,800 bound volumes, this full-text set includes all subjects/topics that the U.S. government has researched and reported on dealing with international affairs, disasters, social issues, Indian affairs, commerce and communication, explorations, and more. Excellent searching and browsing features.
U.S. Congressional Documents Collection This link opens in a new window
The Congressional Record is the printed version of debates, proceedings and speeches of the U.S. Congress.
The Congressional Record, first published in 1873, is essentially the complete printed version of debates, proceedings and speeches of the United States Congress. Previously congressional debates were catalogued in the Annals of Congress (1789-1824), Register of Debates (1824-1837) and Congressional Globe (1833-1873). The American State Papers are a collection of 6,278 documents in 38 volumes comprising the legislative and executive documents of the first fourteen Congresses from 1789 to 1838. The Journals of the Continental Congress are the records of daily proceedings of the Continental Congress, as kept by Secretary Charles Thomson.

Digital Public Library
Search and limit to "image" to find digitized collections from across the U.S. They have an exhibit on American Empire.

ArchiveGrid This link opens in a new window
Search engine for collections in archives and special libraries.
HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Digital collection of books, journals, newspapers, and other print materials scanned by member libraries. Materials in the public domain are available for reading online. Includes many US government documents.
Collection is full text searchable. Materials in the public domain are available for reading online. Copyrighted materials are not available in full text, but often indicate page numbers where words occur. Includes many US government documents. hathi trust

Periodical Collections

American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection This link opens in a new window
Historical magazines on many topics. Publication dates: 1684-1912
Includes Agricultural Periodicals, 1789-1879; Alternative Faith and Philosophy Periodicals, 1789-1878; Alternative Medicine and Health, 1810-1877; American Literary Periodicals, 1782-1891; American Medicine, Surgery, Dentistry Periodicals, 1786-1877; American Political and Social Movements, 1815-1884; American Political Periodicals, 1715-1891; Baptists, Quakers, and Independent Church Periodicals, 1797-1881; Business, Industrial and Professional Periodicals; Canadian Periodicals, 1790-1877; Catholic, Lutheran, Methodist, and Episcopal Periodicals, 1797-1904; College and Student Periodicals, 1806-1877; Congregational, Presbyterian, and Reformed Church Periodicals, 1803-1902; Drama, Humor, and Fine Arts Periodicals, 1764-1877; Fireside Companions and Family Literature Periodicals, 1805-1877; Foreign Language Periodicals in America, 1684-1904; Hobbies, Socialization, and Sport Periodicals, 1775-1889; Masons, Odd-Fellows and Other Societal Periodicals, 1794-1877; Periodicals of the British Empire and Its Colonies, 1702-1879; Story Papers, Dimes and Dollar Periodicals, 1828-1877; Theology and Biblical Studies Periodicals, 1760-1877; Women's Periodicals of the Nineteenth Century
American Periodicals Series This link opens in a new window
American magazines and journals, with full-text page scans. Publication dates: 1740-1940
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports 1941-1996 This link opens in a new window
Translated newspaper articles as well as radio and television broadcasts from non-U.S. news sources.
America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
More than 1,000 U.S. historical newspapers published between 1690 and 1998, including titles from all 50 states.
ProQuest News and Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Newspapers, broadcast transcripts, and wire service reports including NYT, Boston Globe, LA Times and Washington Post. 1850 to Current; varies with each title

Useful subject headings in LibrarySearch

Any of these subjects can be combined in a CBBcat Advanced Search with Subject: diaries OR correspondence OR narratives OR sources OR speeches OR interviews OR "pictorial works" to locate primary sources in published form.

The same subject headings work in WorldCat and HathiTrust, which will expand your search beyond CBB.

Is it history?

Let's look at three scholarly articles on the subject of Filipino nurses.

Brush, Barbara. “The Rockefeller Agenda for American/Philippine Nursing Relations.” Western Journal of Nursing Research 17.5 (1995): 540–555. http://journals.sagepub.com/doi/pdf/10.1177/019394599501700506
Hayne, Arlene N., Clara Gerhardt, and Jonathan Davis. "Filipino Nurses in the United States: Recruitment, Retention, Occupational Stress, and Job Satisfaction." Journal of Transcultural Nursing 20, no. 3 (2009): 313-322. http://journals.sagepub.com/doi/pdf/10.1177/1043659609334927
Allen, James P. "Recent Immigration from the Philippines and Filipino Communities in the United States." Geographical Review 67, no. 2 (1977): 195-208. http://www.jstor.org/stable/214020

Which article(s) can be categorized as history--that is, which article(s) are suitable secondary sources for a history paper? What kind of clues do we find in the following:

What is the focus of the journal that published it?
What kind of scholar is the author? How do you know?
What time period is studied in the article?
What research methods did the author use?
What kinds of sources does it cite?

Christine Murray

Contact:

Ladd Library 132
(207) 786-6268
cmurray2@bates.edu

I am usually at the Research Desk Mon. 10-1, Tues. 6-9, and Thurs. 1-4

Subjects: African Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Chinese, Economics, Environmental Studies, History, Japanese, Languages and Literatures, Legal Studies, Politics, Psychology, Sociology, U. S. History