RFSS 260 - Lesbian and Gay Images in Film - *Gender & Sexuality Studies

Class Presentation for RFSS 260 - Oct. 29

RFSS 260A Slides

RFSS 260B Slides

Research Resources for RFSS 260

Below is the requirements for your annotated bibliographies, with a short list of some suggested databases and places to look for each required item of information.

To complete your annotated bibliographies for RFSS 260, you will need:

at least two reviews from popular press

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
This database is a fairly comprehensive newspaper article archive. This is a particularly good place to look for film reviews that came out at the time of release of films.

Nexis Uni Sample Search: "Brokeback Mountain" review, Dates 2005-2009
Use the name of the film in quotation marks to do a phrase search and include the word 'review', and consider limiting to the year the film was released.
LibrarySearch Newspaper Search
This is the Newspaper tab of LibrarySearch. This allows you to search nearly all of our news databases at once, the best place to start looking for news articles behind paywalls.
Newspaper Search Example: "Brokeback Mountain", dates 2004-2005
This is an example for how to search for film reviews that were published at the time a film was released.

at least one review or discussion from a blog or internet site (e.g., posts from a discussion/debate on Twitter/X or a reviewer whose site is online only)

RogerEbert.com
A well curated website featuring full text of many of Ebert's film reviews, as well as analytical reviews of new films published by Ebert's widow and collaborators.
Movie Review Query Engine (MRQE)
Reviews and ratings posted directly to this commercial site may not be useful for scholarship, the links to online reviews in more reliable sources are comprehensive.

Readers' Guide Retrospective This link opens in a new window
A very good index for older film reviews from older magazines, coverage is best before 1982.
Incorporates (through 1982) the printed Nineteenth century readers' guide to periodical literature, 1890-1899, and Readers' guide to periodical literature.

Readers' Guide Retrospective - Sample Search: (Dr. Strangelove)
This is an example of searching for an older film to fine reviews from the time of its release.
Letterboxd
This is ultimately a social networking site, but some of the funniest, most interesting and engaging film criticism is being posted on this site. Find notable critics, film festival or production company accounts for more credible and citable criticism.

at least two scholarly articles that deal with the film, director, star

Screen Studies Collection This link opens in a new window
Combines Film Index International and the AFI Catalog. Extensive bibliography of film news and reviews associated with each entry. Reviews are not full text. A very good database!
Includes FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Database and the detailed and complementary filmographies created by the American Film Institute and the British Film Institute; AFI Catalog and Film Index International.
Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window
Gender studies journal articles.
Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Rhetoric, communication, film, television, mass media, and popular culture journal articles. Publication dates: early 20th century to present communication & mass media complete

at least one scholarly work that discusses the social, historical, or political context of the film, director, or star

LibrarySearch
Books and ebooks in the Bates, Colby, and Bowdoin collections can be searched in LibrarySearch. Books located at Colby or Bowdoin can be obtained by the "CBB Request" link visible once you sign in.

Humanities Librarian

Marianne Williams

she/her

Contact:

Ladd Library 131
(207) 786-8323
mwillia8@bates.edu

I am usually at the Research Desk Mon. 6-9, Tues. 1-4, and Wed. 10-1

Subjects: Art and Visual Culture, Classical and Medieval Studies, English, European Studies, French, Gender and Sexuality Studies, German, Greek (Ancient), Hispanic Studies, Languages and Literatures, Latin American and Latinx Studies, Russian

*Gender & Sexuality Studies

Other Related Research Guides

These are other Research Guides that overlap with the assignments for this class:

Class Presentation for RFSS 260 - Oct. 29

RFSS 260A Slides

RFSS 260B Slides

Research Resources for RFSS 260

To complete your annotated bibliographies for RFSS 260, you will need:

at least two reviews from popular press

at least one review or discussion from a blog or internet site (e.g., posts from a discussion/debate on Twitter/X or a reviewer whose site is online only)

at least two scholarly articles that deal with the film, director, star

at least one scholarly work that discusses the social, historical, or political context of the film, director, or star

Humanities Librarian

RFSS 260 Library Items