It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Film, Recording, Arts and Performance Reviews: Home
Includes newspapers from around the United States and the world.
Access to thousands of news, business, legal, and medical publications and information sources, including: newspapers, newsletters, magazines, trade journals, wire services, and broadcast transcripts. It offers some international resources in French, Italian, German, Portuguese, and Spanish. The legal component of the database includes comprehensive, current legal information which consists of federal and state case law, statues, secondary sources such as law reviews, and state legal materials. Includes Shepard's Citations for all federal and states court cases back to 1789.
In addition to the Newspapers and Magazines listed on the first tab, the following resources may lead to authoritative and scholarly reviews:
Combines Film Index International and the AFI Catalog. Extensive bibliography of film news and reviews associated with each entry. Reviews are not full text.
Film Indexes Online brings Film Index International and AFI Catalog together in one site. Film Index International provides in-depth indexing of over 120,000 films - from the first silent movies to the latest blockbusters - and biographical information for more than 737,000 personalities. It includes coverage of international film awards and prizes as well as searchable plot summaries and full cast and crew lists. AFI Catalog, compiled by specialist researchers at the American Film Institute, is the premier resource for American films providing a detailed view of American feature films produced during the last century.
Good index to older film reviews from popular magazines.
Readers' Guide Retrospective indexes popular and general interest magazines published in the United States and Canada. Incorporates (through 1982) the printed Nineteenth century readers' guide to periodical literature, 1890-1899, and Readers' guide to periodical literature.
Only covers films released between 1976-2001. Includes exhaustive lists of published reviews with each film title entry.
The Film Literature Index (FLI) indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover and 200 other periodicals selectively for articles on film and television. The periodicals range from the scholarly to the popular. More than 2,000 subject headings provide detailed analysis of the articles.