Research Guides: Library Work Perks for Staff and Faculty: Interested in DVDs and streaming video?

Check out new DVDs

To check out the latest new DVDs in the CBB collection, click here.

Follow the 3 step process on the CBB New Books & Media page to search and/or set up email notifications:

Select subject(s) or area(s) of interest.
Set additional settings in format and language. If you only want to see new items at Bates, select Bates in the Campus section. Narrow the time frame to 7, 30, or 90 days.
When done selecting preferences, click submit at the bottom of the page for results To set up email notifications, go to the bottom of the page and enter your email address and click subscribe.

DVDs are FREE to borrow:

Viewing rooms are available for reserve at the audio video desk. View video area policies.

Academic Video Online (AVON) This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary video collection.
Drama Online This link opens in a new window
Scripts, audio or video of over 2,000 plays. Includes Shakespeare’s Globe to Globe Festival on Screen 1 & 2.
Folkstreams: The Best of American Folklore Films This link opens in a new window
Documentary films on American folk life, including excellent coverage of American roots music.
Internet Archive: Moving Images This link opens in a new window
Historic archive of public domain movies, films, ads, and videos. Everything from government training films to Night of the Living Dead. Many films are free to download.
Contains thousands of digital movies uploaded by Archive users which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts.
Library of Congress Digital Collections: Film and Video This link opens in a new window
Films from the Edison Companies, Presidential films and other documentaries of the early 20th Century, Coca Cola advertising, and the September 11 Documentary Project.
OntheBoards.tv This link opens in a new window
Full-length, high quality contemporary performance and dance films. on the boards

Bates' YouTube channel which includes the award-winning Ask the (College) Experts videos as well as many other videos related to the college.

Recordings of concerts at Bates College dating from September 2019-current

BWell exercise videos feature on demand workouts including bootcamps, kinstretch, and yoga

YouTube videos about genealogy from the Maine State Library

The Great Falls Forum is a collaboration between Bates College, the Lewiston Public Library, and the Lewiston Sun-Journal.

The University of Maine's Cooperative Extension's: Food and Health site includes lots of recipes, many of which have a corresponding video.