Research Guides: Library Work Perks for Staff and Faculty: All things music

Check out new music resources

There are two ways to check out the latest new music resources in the CBB collection.

1. You can search for what you would like and then scroll down the facets on the left side of the screen (under Refine your Results), and use the New Records option(s) to see the newest materials. The New Records facet may not appear of there have not been new additions that meet your search criteria within the past three months.

2. You can save a search in Bates LibrarySearch and turn on notifications. You can search for a favorite artist, genre, etc. For example, one could sign in to Bates LibrarySearch and do an advanced search for subject contains sound recordings OR subject contains streaming audio. Click Save query (between the search criteria and the search results). Click the push pin/thumb tack icon in the upper right of the screen to see your favorites. Under My Favorites, click Saved Searches. Click the bell icon to set an alert for that search.

Music

You can check out CDs, vinyl/LPs and much more:

Search the catalog by Author using the name of the artist. Example: search Mitchell, Joni
Scores (of Scores!) M1-1500 call number range for scores located on the ground floor of Ladd outside the Audio room by the vending machine. Click for map
Headphones can be checked out for building use only.
Turntables are located in the AV area.
Music composition room available
Books about music (not scores of music) and how to play an instrument are in call number ranges ML and MT located centrally on the Ground floor. Rolling stacks.

Electronic Resource & Streaming Music

American Music (ASP Music Online) This link opens in a new window
Recordings include country, old-time, folk music, jazz, ragtime, gospel & sacred, spoken word, and material from stage & screen.
American Music (ASP Music Online) This link opens in a new window
Recordings include country, old-time, folk music, jazz, ragtime, gospel & sacred, spoken word, and material from stage & screen.
Bach-Gesellschaft Ausgabe This link opens in a new window
The 46 volume J.S.Bach Complete Works edition published between 1851-1896.
Beethoven's Werke This link opens in a new window
The 29 volume Breitkopf & Härtel Bethoven Complete Works Edition, published 1862-68, 1890.
Classical Music Library This link opens in a new window
Classical music sound recordings. Can be streamed either on a computer or a mobile device. Publication dates: Medieval to contemporary classical music
Contemporary World Music (ASP Music Online) This link opens in a new window
Popular musical genres include: reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bhangra, Arab swing and jazz, and many others. Traditional music genres include: Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku, etc.
DRAM (Database of Recorded American Music) This link opens in a new window
Streamed CD quality audio, complete and original liner notes and essays. Coverage ranges from folk to opera, Native American to jazz, 19th century classical to early rock, musical theater, contemporary, electronic and more.
Recordings of American music (with liner notes, essays, bibliographies, and discographies) on important labels such as New World Records, Composers Recordings, Inc. and more.
IMSLP (Internet Music Score Library Project) This link opens in a new window
IMSLP (also known as the Petrucci Music Library) is the largest collection of free music scores online. Scores are checked for copyright compliance and made available in PDF format. Publication dates: mostly classical music, 1500-1923.
Internet Archive: Audio This link opens in a new window
Music, radio, audio books, podcasts.
100,000+ free recordings including news, Grateful Dead concerts, Old Time Radio, audio books, poetry readings, and audio podcasts. Many are available for free download.
Jazz Music Library (ASP Music Online) This link opens in a new window
Jazz music sound recordings available for online streaming.
Library of Congress Digital Collections: Audio Recordings This link opens in a new window
Recordings of American folk music, political events, slave narratives, and oral histories.
Music & Performing Arts This link opens in a new window
Music recordings from many of the top performers and groups. Publication dates: all genres and styles. music and performing arts
Interface which allows for searching across several Alexander Street Press sound recording databases: American Song; 1) Classical Music Library, 2) Contemporary World Music; 3) Jazz Music Library; and 4) Smithsonian Global Sound. Music & Performing Arts offers thousands of audio recordings. Indexed for subjects, historical events, genres, people, cultural groups, places, time periods, ensembles. Includes a broad range of American music recordings, with particular strength in blues, jazz, and folk.
Musical Scores This link opens in a new window
Nearly 4000 scores and books in the public domain. Many of these are unique to the collection of the Sibley Music Library of The University of Rochester's Eastman School..
Music for the Nation This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 62,500 pieces of historical sheet music registered for copyright...Included are popular songs, operatic arias, piano music, sacred and secular choral music, solo instrumental music, method books and instructional materials, and music for band and orchestra.
Music Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
Music. Publication dates: 1996 to present (some earlier) Formerly known as IIMP
Music, music education, performance, ethnomusicology, musical theatre, theory, popular music, and composition.
Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
Emphasizes western classical music and Chinese music, but also includes large collections of world and folk music, contemporary jazz, adult contemporary (including New Age), Euro-pop, and children's classical.
Naxos Music Library is the most comprehensive collection of classical music available online. It includes the complete Naxos, Marco Polo and Dacapo catalogues of over 85,000 tracks, including Classical music, Jazz, World, Folk and Chinese music. While listening, you can read notes on the works being played as well as biographical information on composers or artists in Naxos's extensive database.
Neue Mozart Ausgabe This link opens in a new window
The digitized version offers the musical text and the critical commentaries of the entire 127 volume Mozart Complete Works Edition, published between 1955-2007. Some restrictions apply to the reproduction of images of source materials, particularly in the supplement to the edition.
Some restrictions apply to the reproduction of images of source materials, particularly in the supplement to the edition.
Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
Covers persons, places, organizations, and terminology associated with the study of western classical, popular, and world music.
Includes access to Grove Music Online, The Oxford Companion to Music, and The Oxford Dcitionary of Music. Grove Music Online is a continuously updated and comprehensive music resource on the web, including the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, edited by Stanley Sadie and John Tyrrell (second edition; 29 volumes; London, 2001), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, edited by Stanley Sadie (4 volumes; London, 1992), and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, edited by Barry Kernfeld (second edition; 3 volumes; London, 2002).
Sheet Music Consortium This link opens in a new window
Open collection of digitized sheet music. Includes links to a number of other sheet music collections in libraries and online. Many of the scores are available for download, and include the illustrated front covers which are rich sources of information for American Cultural Studies.
Sibley Library Music Scores This link opens in a new window
Scores and books in the public domain. Many of these are unique to the Sibley Music Library collection.
Smithsonian Global Sound This link opens in a new window
Recordings include American folk, blues, bluegrass, old time country, American Indian, World, Jazz, Classical & Broadway, spoken word, sounds of nature, and children's music.
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozarts Werke This link opens in a new window
The Breitkopf & Härtel edition published 1877-1910. No restrictions on public performance.