Research Guides: *Art and Visual Culture: Architecture

Where to start research in Architecture

You can find a wide range of resources on architecture, including books, journals, blogs, newspapers, and specialized databases, such as article indexes and bibliographies to find more specific information. Museums and galleries often have exhibitions on architecture or specific architects that maybe helpful. Architectural firms and professional organizations are also excellent sources on featured projects, resources, current trends and practices.

There are many architecture-specific resources available at Bates. You may find the following resources useful for the study of architecture:

Scopus This link opens in a new window
Sciences and social sciences journal article citations. Searchable by author affiliation and citation count.
International Medieval Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Medieval studies journal articles, essay collections and conference proceedings. Publication dates: 1967 to present
The International Medieval Bibliography is a comprehensive bibliography of j in this this interdisciplinary field. Areas covered include classics, English language and literature, history and archaeology, theology and philosophy, Medieval European languages and literatures, Arabic and Islamic studies, history of education, art history, music, theatre and performance arts, rhetoric and communication studies. Dates covered range from 400 to 1500 A.D., and geographic coverage includes Europe, the Middle East, and North Africa. The database also allows users to search the Bibliographie de Civilisation Medievale, an index of over 40,000 books and 64,000 book reviews on medieval topics since 1957.
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
U.S. and Canadian history journal articles. Citations with links to full text. Publication dates: 1964 to present america history and life ahl
archINFORM This link opens in a new window
Information on both built and unrealized architectural projects, mainly from the 20th century.
Historic American Buildings Survey / Historic American Engineering Record / Historic American Landscapes Survey This link opens in a new window
Drawings, photographs, and written histories for built environments in the United States and associated territories. The survey is a program of the National Parks Service, and is constantly updated.
Historic Campus Architecture Project This link opens in a new window
From The Council of Independent Colleges. Includes material on Bates College

The Grove Encyclopedia of Islamic Art and Architecture by Jonathan M. Bloom; Sheila S. Blair
ISBN: 9780195373042
Published: 2009-02-05
The Grove Encyclopedia of Medieval Art and Architecture by Colum Hourihane (Editor-In-Chief)
ISBN: 9780195395365
Published: 2012-11-09

Humanities Librarian

Marianne Williams

she/her

Contact:

Ladd Library 131
(207) 786-8323
mwillia8@bates.edu

I am usually at the Research Desk Mon. 6-9, Tues. 1-4, and Wed. 10-1

Subjects: Art and Visual Culture, Classical and Medieval Studies, English, European Studies, French, Gender and Sexuality Studies, German, Greek (Ancient), Hispanic Studies, Languages and Literatures, Latin American and Latinx Studies, Russian