Research Guides: Art Crime and Art Law: Art Crime and Art Law

Where to start research in Art Crime

To begin researching art crime, consider some of these research strategies:

Literature Review: Search academic databases LibrarySearch for articles, books, and research papers on art crime, art theft, and cultural heritage protection.
Stolen Art Databases: Explore databases created by law enforcement organizations to track missing or stolen artworks.
Legal Framework: Study international and national laws protecting cultural heritage.
Experts and Organizations: Identify scholars, researchers, and organizations working in art crime prevention and investigation.
Security Measures: Study security measures implemented by institutions to prevent art crime.
Ethics and Restitution: Consider ethical aspects related to the repatriation and restitution of stolen artworks to their countries of origin.

Remember, art crime research often involves multidisciplinary approaches, blending art history, criminology, law, ethics, and cultural studies.

Visual Arts and the Law by Judith B. Prowda
Location: [E-Resource]
ISBN: 9781848220867
Published: 2013-07-01
This essential handbook offers art professionals and collectors an accessible legal analysis of important principles in art law, as well as a practical guide to legal rights when creating, buying, selling and collecting art in a global market. Although the book is international in scope, there is a particular focus on the US as a major art centre and the site of countless key international court cases. This authoritative but accessible and wide-ranging volume is essential reading for arts advisors, collectors, dealers, auction houses, museums, investors, artists, attorneys and students of art and law.

Resources on Art Crime

Familiarize yourself with art history, criminal justice, and cultural heritage. Understand different forms of art crime like theft, forgery, smuggling, and vandalism. Researching the art history canon to understand why works are important or valuable is helpful, as well as finding the vocabulary that refers to specific art crimes.

Art and Architecture Complete This link opens in a new window
Fine and studio arts periodicals and books; abstracts and some full text. Includes an Image Collection of over 63,000 images. Publication dates: ca. 1980 to present art & architecture complete
Art Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Fine arts journal articles. Publication dates: 1984 to present
Art Abstracts indexes and abstracts articles from periodicals published throughout the world. Coverage includes English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, as well as periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Japanese, Spanish, Dutch, and Swedish. In addition to articles, Art Abstracts indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals.
Art Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Art journals and magazines. Citations compiled from Art Index volumes 1-32. Publication dates: 1929-1984.

Sample Search (Art Forgeries)
This is a sample subject search for "Art -- Forgeries".
Sample Search (Art Theft)
Using a subject search can bring up a lot of different examples of and research on art crimes.

These databases provide access to information on loss or stolen artworks from international and national authorities. Most require creating an account, and offer both web and mobile application interfaces.

INTERPOL's Stolen Works of Art Database
The only database at the international level with certified police information on stolen and missing objects of art. Access to the database requires an account, but is completely free to any user.
ID-Art Mobile App by INTERPOL
This is a mobile app of the Stolen Works of Art Database by Interpol. Available on both Apple and Android platforms.
Art Loss Database
The Art Loss Register (ALR) holds the world’s largest private database of lost, stolen and looted art, antiques and collectibles, currently listing more than 700,000 items.
FBI's National Stolen Art File
The National Stolen Art File is a series of entries on objects that have been stolen—usually within the United States—that are valued at over $2,000.
FBI's Art Crime Team
Learn more about the Art Crime Team at the FBI.
Looted Art
This is a database created by The Commission for Looted Art in Europe (CLAE) to assist in recovering stolen works of art. A large focus on works stolen during World War 2 in Europe.

These are a selection of legal framework examples that collectively emphasize the importance of preserving cultural heritage, preventing illicit trafficking, and ensuring the rightful ownership and protection of cultural artifacts and sites.

1970 UNESCO Convention
UNESCO Convention on the Means of Prohibiting and Preventing the Illicit Import, Export and Transfer of Ownership of Cultural Property.
Hague Convention of 1954
The Convention for the Protection of Cultural Property in the Event of Armed Conflict addresses the protection of cultural heritage during times of armed conflict. It outlines rules for safeguarding cultural sites, objects, and institutions from damage or destruction.
NAGPRA (United States)
The Native American Graves Protection and Repatriation Act requires institutions that receive federal funding to return certain Native American cultural items to their respective tribes and Native Hawaiian organizations, facilitating the repatriation of ancestral remains and cultural artifacts.
1972 World Heritage Convention
The Convention concerning the Protection of the World Cultural and Natural Heritage, administered by UNESCO, designates and protects sites of exceptional cultural and natural importance as World Heritage Sites. It encourages international cooperation for the preservation of these sites.
UNESCO Database of National Cultural Heritage Laws
By compiling the national laws of its Member States, UNESCO offers all stakeholders involved a complete and easily accessible source of information.

There are many experts and organizations working to promote justice for art crimes, these are a selection of some of them.

Cultural Heritage Center at the ECA
This is the Cultural Heritage Center, an initiative from the Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs from the US State Department. They often work on repatriating and anti-trafficking cases for cultural heritage properties.
INTERPOL - Cultural Heritage Crime
INTERPOL has various programs fighting cultural heritage trafficking and art crime.
ICOM's Red Lists
A Red List is NOT a list of actual stolen objects. The cultural goods depicted are inventoried objects within the collections of recognised institutions. They serve to illustrate the categories of cultural goods most vulnerable to illicit traffic from the International Council of Museums.
CLAE
The Commission for Looted Art in Europe (CLAE), is an international, expert and non-profit representative body which researches, identifies and recovers looted property on behalf of families, communities, institutions and governments worldwide.
Lawyers’ Committee for Cultural Heritage Preservation (LCCHP)
Professional organization promoting "the preservation and protection of cultural heritage resources in the United States and internationally through education and advocacy."
International Foundation for Art Research (IFAR)
A nonprofit organization dedicated to advancing the understanding and responsible management of art through research, education, and advocacy. It focuses on issues related to authenticity, provenance, and ethical practices in the art world.

Security measures collectively create layers of protection to deter potential thieves and vandals, ensuring the safety and preservation of valuable artworks within museum premises.

The Securitization and Policing of Art Theft by John Kerr
ISBN: 9781472444516
Published: 2015-05-28
Museum Security by International Committee on Museum Security Staff; Robert W. Burke (Editor); David Liston (Editor)
ISBN: 0415054575
Published: 1993-11-01

The International Committee for Museum Security
The ICMS issues guidelines and resources for museum security.

These books offer valuable insights into the ethical dimensions of art repatriation, considering the perspectives of different stakeholders, including museums, source countries, and Indigenous communities. For more examples like this, try searching LibrarySearch for Museums and Ethics.

Whose Culture? : The Promise of Museums and the Debate over Antiquities
ISBN: 9786613860613
This book explores the complex ethical and legal issues surrounding the repatriation of cultural artifacts. Cuno presents arguments both for and against repatriation, examining the balance between cultural heritage preservation and universal access to art.
Decolonizing Museums by Amy Lonetree
ISBN: 9780807837528
Published: 2012-11-19
While not solely focused on repatriation, this book examines the broader issues of representation, ownership, and indigenous perspectives within museums. It addresses the ethical considerations of returning cultural materials to their rightful communities and reimagining museum practices.
We Are Coming Home by Gerald T. Conaty (Editor)
ISBN: 9781771990172
Published: 2014-11-30
In 1990, Gerald Conaty became senior curator at the Glenbow Museum to enhance its ties with Aboriginal communities. Amid criticism, he oversaw the return of over fifty sacred bundles to First Nations between 1990 and 2000. This book recounts this intricate repatriation process, spotlighting involved individuals and the First Nations Sacred Ceremonial Objects Repatriation Act as a case study in decolonizing museums.
Art, Cultural Heritage and the Market by Valentina Vadi (Editor); Hildegard E. G. S. Schneider (Editor)
ISBN: 9783642450938
Published: 2014-02-10
Amid economic globalization, art and heritage gain significance as cultural governance becomes a focal point of international law. This book explores intersections of art, heritage, and the market, grappling with ethical and legal complexities. It considers the intricate interplay of legal and ethical concerns across disciplines.

These are news sources on art crimes, to help you stay updated on the latest examples of art theft or trafficking.

FBI Art Crime News
This is a website of the latest press releases from the FBI's Art Crime Program.
The Art of Value
The Art of Value is a blog that encourages extended exploration and discourse on art crime and safeguarding cultural heritage.
The Association for Research into Crimes against Art (ARCA)
A British Civil Society Organization that works to promote the study and research of art crime and cultural heritage protection. The Association seeks to identify emerging and under-examined trends related to art-related crimes as well as to develop strategies that advocate for the responsible stewardship of heritage.
Art Crime from Artnet News
Artnet News is a reputable platform covering global art-related topics. Their art crime news page focuses on reporting incidents of art theft, forgery, and cultural heritage preservation. It provides insights into legal, ethical, and investigative aspects of art crime, catering to art enthusiasts, professionals, and researchers.