Research Guides: *Art and Visual Culture: Getting Started in Art and Visual Research

Best Bets for Art and Visual Culture

These are the top 3 resources recommended for research in Art and Visual Culture. These are good starting places for research in any AVC class, but can also be used in combination with other resources for other classes.

Art and Architecture Complete This link opens in a new window
This is one of the most definitive and largest databases of fine and studio arts periodicals and books. This can be used to find peer-reviewed articles and excellent quality images of artworks.
Images on JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences.

Topic Overviews for Art and Visual Culture

These are specialized reference databases and books that are designed for research in art and visual culture. Finding information on artists or specific artworks and the context of how and when objects were made, and how they might move from an artist's studio to a museum collection for example, are important methods in understanding art history and museum studies.

Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History This link opens in a new window
From the Metropolitan Museum of Art. Searchable by date or location. Includes a virtual collection of thematic essays which provide historical context.

Art Encyclopedias in LibrarySearch
There are lots of different specialized art encyclopedias that provide context and bibliographic information across many different subjects. Try searching art encyclopedias to see what you can find!

Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the Grove Dictionary of Art, a very important reference resource. Focused on European and Western art, but includes entries on many global art histories.

Oxford Reference - Art and Architecture
Oxford Reference provides more than 60,000 concise definitions and in-depth, specialist encyclopedic entries across Art and Architecture. Coverage includes authoritative, highly accessible information on artists, architects, works, and buildings as well as the terminology, concepts, movements, techniques, and organizations relating to all periods within these fields.

Article Databases in Art and Visual Culture

An article index is a searchable database that helps you find relevant articles and scholarly sources for your research. While an article index doesn't always provide the full text of the articles themselves, it helps you identify relevant articles and citations for further exploration.

Art Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Fine arts journal articles. Publication dates: 1984 to present
Art Abstracts indexes and abstracts articles from periodicals published throughout the world. Coverage includes English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, as well as periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Japanese, Spanish, Dutch, and Swedish. In addition to articles, Art Abstracts indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals.
Art Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Art journals and magazines. Citations compiled from Art Index volumes 1-32. Publication dates: 1929-1984.
BHA and RILA This link opens in a new window
European and American visual arts journal article citations. Publication dates: 1975 to 2007.
Index of Medieval Art This link opens in a new window
(Formerly Index of Christian Art) Particular emphasis and focus on art of the western world. Significant additional holdings from Coptic Egypt, Lebanon, Ethiopia, Syria, Armenia, and the Near East. Publication dates: Early apostolic times up to 1550
The Index records works of art produced without geographical limitations from early apostolic times up to A.D. 1550 (some manuscript holdings up to the middle of the sixteenth century). Particular emphasis and focus on art of the western world. This has been corrected over the last few years with the addition of significant holdings from Coptic Egypt, Lebanon, Ethiopia, Syria, Armenia, and the Near East. Seventeen different media are represented in the archive, and these include manuscripts, metalwork, sculpture, painting, glass, etc.

Top Art and Visual Culture Journals

This is a selection of important journals in art and visual culture. It is a good idea to be familiar with these publications, but there are many more to explore, too.

Curator : the museum journal.
A peer-reviewed academic publication that explores critical issues in the theory and practice of museums and curatorial work.
Art in America
An additionally well-respected art news publication. Bates provides access to the latest as well as archived issues of Art in America.
American Art
Published by Oxford University Press in association with the National Museum of American Art, Smithsonian Institution, this is a well-regarded peer-reviewed art publication. Bates provides access to archived issues up to 1 year old.

News Sources in Art and Visual Culture

For art exhibition news, you will want to reference both art magazines, such as Art in America, and popular sources from major metropolitan areas, such as the New York Times, that publish frequent reviews from art and culture critics.

Art in America Reviews
Exhibition reviews and art criticism from major galleries and museums.
College Art Association Reviews
Concise, critical reviews of exhibitions and projects in all areas and periods of art history and visual studies
Artnews
Artnews is a leading source of information and commentary on the global art world, providing news, features, and analysis about art and culture.
The Art Newspaper
A widely respected international publication that covers news and developments in the art world, including exhibitions, auctions, and cultural events.