These databases may come in handy while researching images:
-
Google Lens Image Search
You can use this to reverse search an image file. Look for credible search results from museums, galleries, artists' websites, news organizations or universities.
-
Images on JSTOR This link opens in a new windowImages in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences.
-
Google Advanced Image Search This link opens in a new windowBe sure to select the "usage rights" (e.g. free to use or share, even commercially) before performing your search.
-
Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History This link opens in a new windowFrom the Metropolitan Museum of Art. Searchable by date or location. Includes a virtual collection of thematic essays which provide historical context.
-
Google Arts and Culture
High-quality scanned images from numerous international museum and gallery collections that have partnered with Google from around the world.
To find scholarship on American art, including articles and books, try these links:
-
Art and Architecture Complete This link opens in a new windowFine and studio arts periodicals and books; abstracts and some full text. Includes an Image Collection of over 63,000 images. Publication dates: ca. 1980 to present art & architecture complete
-
LibrarySearch Advanced Search
To find print books exclusively at Bates, select Available at Bates and Material Type Books. To eliminate ebooks, under Availability, select Physical material.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowThis is an interdisciplinary database, but a very good one for finding contextual information about American and Orientalist issues.
Some notable journals and magazines that feature American art:
-
Artforum International
Artforum is a very well-respected and widely read art publication. Bates provides a subscription to archived issues over 1 year old.
-
Art in America
An additionally well-respected art news publication. Bates provides access to the latest as well as archived issues of Art in America.
-
American Art
Published by Oxford University Press in association with the National Museum of American Art, Smithsonian Institution, this is a well-regarded peer-reviewed art publication. Bates provides access to archived issues up to 1 year old.
