ANTH / AVC 278 - At the Cross-Roads: Art & Migration - *Art and Visual Culture

Research Resources for AVC/ANTH 278

These databases may come in handy while researching images and photographs in general:

Google Lens Image Search
You can use this to reverse search an image file. Look for credible search results from museums, galleries, artists' websites, news organizations or universities.

Images on JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences.
Google Advanced Image Search This link opens in a new window
Be sure to select the "usage rights" (e.g. free to use or share, even commercially) before performing your search.

Google Arts and Culture
High-quality scanned images from numerous international museum and gallery collections that have partnered with Google from around the world.

To find scholarship in Art History, including articles and books, start with this short list of databases:

Art and Architecture Complete This link opens in a new window
Fine and studio arts periodicals and books; abstracts and some full text. Includes an Image Collection of over 63,000 images. Publication dates: ca. 1980 to present art & architecture complete

Oxford Bibliographies in Art History
Citation-rich scholarly essays on art history aspects as well as other interdisciplinary subjects.

To find scholarship in Anthropology, try these links:

Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
Anthropology and archaeology journal articles.

AnthroSource
Journals published by the American Anthropological Association.
Annual Review of Anthropology
High quality literature reviews.
Open Encyclopedia of Anthropology
Essays on topics in social anthropology, with further reading.

Oxford Bibliographies in Anthropology
Citation-rich scholarly essays on broad anthropological aspects as well as other interdisciplinary subjects.

Finding Materials and Archives in Lewiston

Links for researching local collections in Maine:

These are a few places to look for digitized photographs and collection materials for contextual information that complement the collections in the Maine MILL Museum. To get in touch with the Archives and Special Collections at Bates, schedule an appointment online or contact staff at muskie@bates.edu.

Lewiston in National Child Labor Committee Collection
Images of child labor in Lewiston, 1909.
Lewiston History Database & Digital Archives
The Lewiston Public Library's Digital Archives has over 5000 images of historical Lewiston/Auburn, as well as 10,000 references to various topics in local media during the past 150 years.
UMaine Special Collections
Portal to collections in including Maine Government Documents, History of Maine Fisheries, and Maine Town Documents.
UMaine's Special Collections of General Maine History Photographs
This is a link to a specific collection within UMaine's Special Collections that may be helpful for you. The images in the General Maine History gallery include photographs, postcards, and illustrations that have been gathered from many of the library's manuscript collections. There are no restrictions for use on these photographs.
Maine Memory Network
The Maine Memory Network, a project of the Maine Historical Society, provides access to thousands of historical items, stories, and exhibits from hundreds of organizations and individuals from across Maine.

Finding Art Criticism and Exhibition Reviews

Some notable journals and magazines that publish exhibition reviews and listings as well as essays and opinions on art:

Artforum International
Artforum is a very well-respected and widely read art publication. Bates provides a subscription to archived issues over 1 year old.
Art in America
An additionally well-respected art news publication. Bates provides access to the latest as well as archived issues of Art in America.
American Art
Published by Oxford University Press in association with the National Museum of American Art, Smithsonian Institution, this is a well-regarded peer-reviewed art publication. Bates provides access to archived issues up to 1 year old.
Listing of All Available Journals on Photography at Bates
This links to all of the journals on photography that Bates subscribes to or has archival access.

Humanities Librarian

Marianne Williams

she/her

Contact:

Ladd Library 131
(207) 786-8323
mwillia8@bates.edu

I am usually at the Research Desk Mon. 6-9, Tues. 1-4, and Wed. 10-1

Subjects: Art and Visual Culture, Classical and Medieval Studies, English, European Studies, French, Gender and Sexuality Studies, German, Greek (Ancient), Hispanic Studies, Languages and Literatures, Latin American and Latinx Studies, Russian

*Art and Visual Culture

Other Related Research Guides

These are other Research Guides that overlap with the assignments for this class: