Research Guides: *Anthropology: Getting Started with Anthropology

Best Bets for Anthropology

Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
Anthropology and archaeology journal articles.

Oxford Bibliographies in Anthropology
Citation-rich scholarly essays on broad anthropological aspects as well as other interdisciplinary subjects.

Oxford Bibliographies in Anthropology
Citation-rich scholarly essays on broad anthropological aspects as well as other interdisciplinary subjects.
Annual Reviews
Search for in-depth literature reviews (summaries of research on a topic) in the Annual Review of Anthropology and other related journals.

International Encyclopedia of Social and Behavioral Sciences This link opens in a new window
There's a whole section on Anthropology from Africa, Sociocultural Overviews: West Africa to Xenophobia and Nativism plus essays on theoretical topics as well.

Open Encyclopedia of Anthropology
Essays on topics in social anthropology, with further reading.

Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Some titles have an embargo on the current 3 -6 years

Below are a few titles that might help with finding a theory as a means to explaining your data. Remember that Oxford Bibliographies has bibliographies on most of the major theories, such as Feminist Anthropology or Structuralism, while the International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences has relevant essays as well.

Also check in the catalog:

Indigenous Peoples: North America This link opens in a new window
This archive includes extensive monograph, manuscript, newspaper, periodical and photograph collections. Well worth the browse.
Bloomsbury Fashion Central This link opens in a new window
Images and primary sources on the history of fashion and dress, and recent scholarly writings on body adornment, dress, costume, and couture around the world.
Searchable by keyword, time, place and culture.

Somalis in Maine - A Bibliography
Citations to news articles and other sources.
Undocumented Migration Project
Based at the University of Michigan, the Undocumented Migration Project (UMP) is a long-term anthropological study of undocumented migration between Mexico and the United States that uses ethnography, archaeology, and forensic science to better understand this clandestine social process.

Contact:

Ladd Library 132
(207) 786-6268
cmurray2@bates.edu

I am usually at the Research Desk Mon. 10-1, Tues. 6-9, and Thurs. 1-4

Subjects: African Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Chinese, Economics, Environmental Studies, History, Japanese, Languages and Literatures, Legal Studies, Politics, Psychology, Sociology, U. S. History