Research Guides: *German: German Literature

Handbooks for German Literature

To start research in German literature, take a look at scholarly handbooks, such as the ones linked below. These publications contain authoritative entries on German authors, themes in German literature, and historical contexts of the Germanic world. These references can also deliver insights and critical analysis, designed to help with in-depth literary studies and academic research.

The Cambridge History of German Literature
Location: ebook
ISBN: 0521434173
This is the first book to provide a complete German literary history up to the Unification of Germany in 1990. It is a history for our times: well-known authors and movements are set in a wider literary, cultural, and political context, standard judgments are reexamined where appropriate, and new prominence is given to writing by women. An excellent choice to learn more about German literature.
The Oxford Companion to German Literature
Location: ebook
The Oxford Companion to German Literature, in its latest edition, explores influential figures like Kafka, Kleist, and Christa Wolf, whose works continue to resonate in modern conversations on literature. The book also takes a closer look at contemporary voices, such as Jelinek, Peter Handke, and Gunter de Bruyn, who have made significant contributions to the ever-evolving landscape of German literature. This edition is a very good guide to German literary culture for scholars and enthusiasts alike.

Reference Resources on German Literature

These reference sources on German literature are organized by topics and authors, with entries that provide historical context, analysis, and bibliographic references to further your research.

Encyclopedia of German Literature
Location: REF PT41 .E53 2000 vols. 1-2
This is a multivolume set on German literature in print, which is helpful for entries on German authors and works. Highly recommended for an extensive understanding of German literature prior to 2000.
The Feminist Encyclopedia of German Literature by Friederike Eigler; Susanne Kord
Location: REF PT41 .F46 1997
ISBN: 0313293139
Published: 1997-02-28
Today, a multiplicity of feminist approaches has become an integral part of the fields of German literary and cultural studies. This comprehensive reference provides a much-needed synthesis of the contribution women have made to German literature and culture. A very valuable resource for feminist examinations of Germany history and culture.
Women Writers in German-Speaking Countries by Elizabeth G. Ametsbichler; Elke P. Frederiksen
Location: REF Z2233.5.W6 W65 1998
ISBN: 0313282013
Published: 1998-02-28
Women have contributed to the literature of German-speaking countries since the Middle Ages, and they continue to write important works at the close of the 20th century. The first work of its kind in English, this reference book contains alphabetically arranged entries for 54 Austrian, German, and Swiss women writers.

Schindler. "Film and Literature" in Encyclopedia of German Literature. London: Fitzroy Dearborn, 2000.
This study delves into the connection between German film and literature, highlighting the common aesthetic elements they share. It traces this relationship through four distinct periods: First, the early 1900s, marked by the prevalent perception of German film as culturally inferior to its literary counterpart. Second, the era from 1910 to 1933, characterized by German cinema's experimental phase, as it grappled with societal concerns and often adapted literary works. The third phase examines the propaganda-driven Nazi cinema during World War II. Finally, it scrutinizes the emergence of the innovative New German Cinema, which vehemently reacted against the oppressive legacy of the Nazi regime.

Periodicals and Annual Reviews on German Literature

Reallexikon der deutschen Literaturwissenschaft. 3 Bände
Location: REF PT41 .R43 2007
The Encyclopedia of German Literary Studies is the standard work of German language and literature studies. It explains all of the important terms of the field precisely and extensively. The terminology of different genres (e.g. drama, poetry, short novel), as well as those of methodology (e.g. hermeneutics, structuralism) and literary theory (e.g. author, narrative perspective), are exhaustively illustrated with regard to their etymology and subject matter.
andererseits - Yearbook of Transatlantic German Studies by William Collins Donahue (Editor); Georg Mein (Editor); Rolf Parr (Editor)
ISBN: 3839461286
andererseits provides a forum for research, commentary, and creative work on topics related to the German-speaking world and the field of German Studies. Works presented in the publication come from a wide variety of genres including book reviews, poetry, essays, editorials, forum discussions, academic notes, lectures, and traditional peer-reviewed academic articles.

Journals in Germanic Literature
Bates subscribes to over 30 journals that specialize in Germanic literature. This is a listing of our current subscriptions.

Humanities Librarian

Marianne Williams

she/her

Contact:

Ladd Library 131
(207) 786-8323
mwillia8@bates.edu

I am usually at the Research Desk Mon. 6-9, Tues. 1-4, and Wed. 10-1

Subjects: Art and Visual Culture, Classical and Medieval Studies, English, European Studies, French, Gender and Sexuality Studies, German, Greek (Ancient), Hispanic Studies, Languages and Literatures, Latin American and Latinx Studies, Russian