Getting Started with Research

For this class, you will use interdisciplinary research methods to explore the intersections of Ecology and History. These disciplines have different strategies, vocabularies, methodologies, journals, and databases. This page contains general academic research to start your research, with more specific resources outlined for each discipline in the left-hand menu.

Start with a Reference Source:

Reference sources will give a brief overview and introduction to a particular broad topic. Encyclopedias, handbooks and other types of reference materials will give you context and a bibliography of citations for you to do further research. Generally, use reference materials as a place to start research and lead to you to other sources.

Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Topical bibliographies in the humanities, social sciences, ecology, and environmental sciences.
These subject focuses bibliographies of the seminal work in a field can really help jump start your research!
Oxford Bibliographies offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on specific topics in a growing range of subject areas. There are at least 50 specific topical bibliographies in each subject area. Each of these features an introduction to the topic. Bibliographies are browsable by subject area and are keyword searchable.
Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
Essays that evaluate the current thinking on a field or topic, and make an original argument about the future direction of the debate. Bates has access to selected online modules in Criminology, History, Literature, Political Science, Philosophy, Psychology, and Religion.