These are links to the resources that we will be covering in our class session today. Feel free to bookmark this page for future research in this class.
These are the resources listed in order presented during the workshop:
This is a link to the Charles Dickens page within this guide, you can also navigate to this link in the left-hand menu. This particular page has some Dickens-specific resources available at Bates and online, including archival listings for Dickens' periodicals Household Words and All the Year Round, curated by the Humanities Librarian.
This searches most (but not all) of the academic databases at Bates. This will include research from all areas of study, although there are ways to narrow down your results. To find books available at Bates, select Available at Bates and Material Type: Books, along with your keywords.
The OED is the authoritative guide to the meaning, historical evolution, and pronunciation to half a million words. This is an excellent resource for developing a more nuanced and scholarly understanding of English words! Some sample words from Great Expectations, but don't use these as your answers: bilious, obdurate, inexorable, sycophant
The online Oxford English Dictionary contains the complete A to Z sequence of the Second Edition, its three-volume Additions Series, and draft material produced in the progress towards the Third Edition. The OED is an historical dictionary of English. It aims to show not only the current meanings of words, but also to trace their development through time. Entries contain detailed etymological analysis and are illustrated by quotations from a wide range of English language sources from around the world. Revised and new entries will be added to the online Dictionary every quarter. The full text, definitions, etymologies, and quotations are all searchable.
This database is curated to meet the standards set by the Modern Language Association (MLA), ensuring reliable and high-quality sources for peer-reviewed research in literature and other subjects.
These are a collection of annotated bibliographies from across the humanities and social sciences, with accessible overviews of scholarly conversations (and controversies). An excellent database, beloved by Bates librarians!
Oxford Bibliographies offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on specific topics in a growing range of subject areas. There are at least 50 specific topical bibliographies in each subject area. Each of these features an introduction to the topic. Bibliographies are browsable by subject area and are keyword searchable.
Biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres. This is useful database for understanding relationships, connections, legacies, and influences of authors on each other over time.
DLB Complete Online includes the DLB main series, the DLB Documentary Series, and the DLB Yearbook Series.
