Research Guides: *English: Getting Started in English

Best Bets in English

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Modern literature, language, linguistics, and folklore journal articles and books. Citations with links to full text. Publication dates: 1926 to present
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
The OED is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history and pronunciation of over half a million words, from across the English-speaking world.
The online Oxford English Dictionary contains the complete A to Z sequence of the Second Edition, its three-volume Additions Series, and draft material produced in the progress towards the Third Edition. The OED is an historical dictionary of English. It aims to show not only the current meanings of words, but also to trace their development through time. Entries contain detailed etymological analysis and are illustrated by quotations from a wide range of English language sources from around the world. Revised and new entries will be added to the online Dictionary every quarter. The full text, definitions, etymologies, and quotations are all searchable.
Oxford Reference Online: English Dictionaries and Thesauruses This link opens in a new window
Brings together language reference works from one of the world's largest reference publishers into a single cross-searchable resource.

ENG 102, ENG 104, ENG 105, ENG 109, ENG 113, ENG 114, ENG 115, ENG 118, ENG 119, ENG 121, ENG 121D, ENG 121F, ENG 121G, ENG 121H, ENG 121J, ENG 121L, ENG 121P, ENG 131, ENG 132, ENG 133, ENG 143, ENG 152, ENG 201, ENG 203, ENG 206, ENG 208, ENG 213, ENG 214, ENG 222, ENG 223, ENG 231, ENG 233, ENG 235, ENG 238, ENG 239, ENG 240, ENG 241, ENG 242, ENG 243, ENG 244, ENG 246, ENG 247, ENG 249, ENG 254, ENG 255, ENG 259, ENG 263, ENG 265, ENG 268, ENG 269, ENG 271, ENG 273, ENG 274, ENG 277, ENG 280, ENG 281, ENG 282, ENG 283, ENG 284, ENG 286, ENG 291, ENG 292, ENG 293, ENG 296, ENG 306, ENG 325, ENG 344, ENG 360, ENG 391, ENG 392, ENG 395, ENG 395C, ENG 395D, ENG 395E, ENG 395G, ENG 395H, ENG 395I, ENG 395J, ENG 395K, ENG 395L, ENG 395N, ENG 395O, ENG 395Q, ENG 395R, ENG 395S, ENG 395T, ENG 395U, ENG 395W, ENG 395Z, ENG 457, ENG 458, ENG S10, ENG S11, ENG S13, ENG S16, ENG S20, ENG S21, ENG S26, ENG S27, ENG S32, ENG S43, ENG S50, ENGS 283, ENG S32, FYS 341, FYS 442, FYS 474, FYS 482, FYS 485, FYS 499, FYS 504, FYS 531, FYS 536, FYS 537, FYS 554, FYS 559, ENG102, ENG104, ENG105, ENG109, ENG113, ENG114, ENG115, ENG118, ENG119, ENG121, ENG121D, ENG121F, ENG121G, ENG121H, ENG121J, ENG121L, ENG121P, ENG131, ENG132, ENG133, ENG143, ENG152, ENG201, ENG203, ENG206, ENG208, ENG213, ENG214, ENG222, ENG223, ENG231, ENG233, ENG235, ENG238, ENG239, ENG240, ENG241, ENG242, ENG243, ENG244, ENG246, ENG247, ENG249, ENG254, ENG255, ENG259, ENG263, ENG265, ENG268, ENG269, ENG271, ENG273, ENG274, ENG277, ENG280, ENG281, ENG282, ENG283, ENG284, ENG286, ENG291, ENG292, ENG293, ENG296, ENG306, ENG325, ENG344, ENG360, ENG391, ENG392, ENG395, ENG395C, ENG395D, ENG395E, ENG395G, ENG395H, ENG395I, ENG395J, ENG395K, ENG395L, ENG395N, ENG395O, ENG395Q, ENG395R, ENG395S, ENG395T, ENG395U, ENG395W, ENG395Z, ENG457, ENG458, ENGS10, ENGS11, ENGS13, ENGS16, ENGS20, ENGS21, ENGS26, ENGS27, ENGS32, ENGS43, ENGS50, ENGS283, ENGS32, FYS341, FYS442, FYS474, FYS482, FYS485, FYS499, FYS504, FYS531, FYS536, FYS537, FYS554, FYS559

Topic Overviews in English

Dictionary of Literary Biography This link opens in a new window
Biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres.
DLB Complete Online includes the DLB main series, the DLB Documentary Series, and the DLB Yearbook Series.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography This link opens in a new window
Biographies of the men and women who shaped British history; includes illustrations Publication dates: Antiquity to 2003
Limited to one user at a time
Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Topical bibliographies in the humanities and social sciences. Oxford Bibliography
Oxford Bibliographies offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on specific topics in a growing range of subject areas. There are at least 50 specific topical bibliographies in each subject area. Each of these features an introduction to the topic. Bibliographies are browsable by subject area and are keyword searchable.

Article Databases in English

Cambridge Core This link opens in a new window
Books and journals from Cambridge University Press, including Cambridge Companions and Cambridge Histories.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Full-text scholarly journals. Publication dates: mostly 1960 to present (some earlier)

Humanities Librarian

Marianne Williams

she/her

Contact:

Ladd Library 131
(207) 786-8323
mwillia8@bates.edu

I am usually at the Research Desk Mon. 6-9, Tues. 1-4, and Wed. 10-1

Subjects: Art and Visual Culture, Classical and Medieval Studies, English, European Studies, French, Gender and Sexuality Studies, German, Greek (Ancient), Hispanic Studies, Languages and Literatures, Latin American and Latinx Studies, Russian