*Classical and Medieval Studies

Classical and Medieval Studies encompasses a vast range of topics, including literature, history, art, philosophy, and more. Narrowing down your keywords to a specific time period, region, or theme will be helpful. Consider questions that explore historical events, cultural developments, literary analyses, or interdisciplinary connections. These are some different types of resources you might find useful:

• Reference Materials, such as encyclopedias, to get an introductory overview of a primary source or topic.
• Primary Sources, or direct historical documents or artifacts from the Classical or Medieval era. They provide firsthand insights into the culture, society, and events of the time, aiding scholars in understanding and reconstructing these periods.
• Dive into specialized Subject-Specific Databases, such as Article Indexes and Bibliographies, to find peer-reviewed articles and secondary sources in CMS will also be helpful.
• Documentaries and Films can also be excellent places to find research and learn about CMS.

Reference materials, such as encyclopedias and bibliographies, can be used to gain background knowledge on a topic, find specific information, and identify other sources of information. These are specialized reference resources and e-books that are written specifically for research in CMS.

• Literature and Ancient Texts: Read ancient texts by critically analyzing their content, context, and authorship to glean insights into Classical and Medieval history, culture, and society. Cross-reference multiple sources and translations for accuracy. Examples include The Iliad by Homer (various translations), The Odyssey by Homer (various translations).
• Art and Iconography: Visual representations of the time, including paintings, sculptures, mosaics, and other forms of artistic expression. These can provide insights into the aesthetics, religious beliefs, and daily life of the period. We have a Special Topic: Iconography Research Guide to research symbols and icons specifically.
• Manuscripts and Illuminations: Examine illuminated manuscripts for artistic and cultural representations, shedding light on medieval aesthetics. Examples include The Luther Bible of 1534, The art of the Bible : illuminated manuscripts from the Medieval world
• Coins: Ancient and Medieval coins can provide information about economic systems, trade routes, and the rulers of the time. They often feature inscriptions or images that can reveal historical details. Look for materials on Classical coins on LibrarySearch to see reproductions and images.
• Chronicles and Histories: Historical accounts and chronicles written by historians of the period, such as Herodotus' Histories or Bede's Ecclesiastical History of the English People. These texts offer contemporary perspectives on events when they happened.
• Legal Documents: Records of laws, decrees, and legal proceedings from the Classical and Medieval periods. For example, The Law of Moses and the Code of the Hammurabi are some examples of legal documents that shed insight into how Babylon functioned as a kingdom in 2250 BCE.
• Maps and Geographic Records: Ancient and Medieval maps, geographical descriptions, and travelogues that shed light on the knowledge of geography and exploration during these eras. Digital atlases, such as the Mapping Past Societies (formerly Digital Atlas of Roman and Medieval Civilization (DARMC) project from Harvard University or Barrington Atlas of the Greek and Roman World by Richard J. A. Talbert.

Subject-specific databases are designed for research on a particular subject, includiing article indexes. An article index is a searchable database that helps you find relevant articles and scholarly sources for your research. While an article index doesn't always provide the full text of the articles themselves, it helps you identify relevant articles and citations for further exploration. Once you find an article of interest in the index, you can usually access the full text by following links to the publication or using the citation to request access through InterLibrary Loan (ILLiad) using your Bates login.