Research Guides: *Classical and Medieval Studies: Getting Started in Classical and Medieval Research

Best Bets in Classical and Medieval Studies

The Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture [E-Resource] by Gordon Campbell
ISBN: 9780195300826
Spans every art form, medium, and civilization during the fall of the Roman Empire, drawn from the expansive scholarship of The Dictionary of Art and Grove Art Online.

Brill's New Pauly This link opens in a new window
Premier encyclopedia of the ancient Greco-Roman world and its influence.
Entries offer easy, direct access to basic information - names, places, dates, objects -- from all areas of Greek and Roman culture as well as their predecessors, neighbors and heirs.
Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Offers curated expert recommendations and resources, guiding research on diverse topics within Classical and Medieval history, culture, and literature.
Oxford Bibliographies offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on specific topics in a growing range of subject areas. There are at least 50 specific topical bibliographies in each subject area. Each of these features an introduction to the topic. Bibliographies are browsable by subject area and are keyword searchable.

Topic Overviews in Classical and Medieval Studies

Reference materials, such as encyclopedias and bibliographies, can be used to gain background knowledge on a topic, find specific information, and identify other sources of information. These are specialized reference resources and e-books that are written specifically for research in CMS.

The Cambridge Ancient History
A multivolume, online series covering the ancient Mediterranean world, including prehistory, Greece, Egypt, Near East, and Rome.
Perseus Project
Textual and images relates to the history, literature and culture of the Greco-Roman world.

Oxford Classical Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Authoritative reference work on all aspects of the Graeco-Roman world. Publication dates: varies
Cambridge Companions This link opens in a new window
Overviews to topics in literature, music, and culture.

Article Databases in Classical and Medieval Studies

These are databases designed for finding peer-reviewed research articles in CMS.

L'Annee philologique This link opens in a new window
Critical and analytical bibliography of Greco-Roman antiquity.
The work indexes books, journal articles, or collections (proceedings of colloquia, collections in honorem, etc.) representing all the disciplines that constitute the study of Greek and Roman antiquity.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Humanities, social sciences, and science full text journals. Recent years not included.

Perseus Project
Textual and images relates to the history, literature and culture of the Greco-Roman world.

Humanities Librarian

Marianne Williams

she/her

Contact:

Ladd Library 131
(207) 786-8323
mwillia8@bates.edu

I am usually at the Research Desk Mon. 6-9, Tues. 1-4, and Wed. 10-1

Subjects: Art and Visual Culture, Classical and Medieval Studies, English, European Studies, French, Gender and Sexuality Studies, German, Greek (Ancient), Hispanic Studies, Languages and Literatures, Latin American and Latinx Studies, Russian