Links for researching local labor portraiture in Maine:
These are a few places to look for digitized photographs and collection materials for contextual information that complement the collections in the Maine MILL Museum. To get in touch with the Archives and Special Collections at Bates, schedule an appointment online or contact staff at muskie@bates.edu.
Lewiston History Database & Digital ArchivesThe Lewiston Public Library's Digital Archives has over 5000 images of historical Lewiston/Auburn, as well as 10,000 references to various topics in local media during the past 150 years.
UMaine Special CollectionsPortal to collections in including Maine Government Documents, History of Maine Fisheries, and Maine Town Documents.
UMaine's Special Collections of General Maine History PhotographsThis is a link to a specific collection within UMaine's Special Collections that may be helpful for you. The images in the General Maine History gallery include photographs, postcards, and illustrations that have been gathered from many of the library's manuscript collections. There are no restrictions for use on these photographs.
Maine Memory NetworkThe Maine Memory Network, a project of the Maine Historical Society, provides access to thousands of historical items, stories, and exhibits from hundreds of organizations and individuals from across Maine.
Here are a few places to look for researching general photographs:
Google Lens Image SearchYou can use this to reverse search an image file. Look for credible search results from museums, galleries, artists' websites, news organizations or universities.
Google Advanced Image Search This link opens in a new windowBe sure to select the "usage rights" (e.g. free to use or share, even commercially) before performing your search.
Images on JSTOR This link opens in a new windowImages in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences.
To find scholarship on portraiture, including articles and books, try these links:
Art and Architecture Complete This link opens in a new windowFine and studio arts periodicals and books; abstracts and some full text. Includes an Image Collection of over 63,000 images. Publication dates: ca. 1980 to present art & architecture complete
LibrarySearch Advanced SearchTo find print books exclusively at Bates, select Available at Bates and Material Type Books. To eliminate ebooks, under Availability, select Physical material.
Some notable journals and magazines that publish exhibition reviews and listings as well as essays and opinions on art and portraiture:
Artforum InternationalArtforum is a very well-respected and widely read art publication. Bates provides a subscription to archived issues over 1 year old.
Art in AmericaAn additionally well-respected art news publication. Bates provides access to the latest as well as archived issues of Art in America.
American ArtPublished by Oxford University Press in association with the National Museum of American Art, Smithsonian Institution, this is a well-regarded peer-reviewed art publication. Bates provides access to archived issues up to 1 year old.
Listing of All Available Journals on Photography at BatesThis links to all of the journals on photography that Bates subscribes to or has archival access.
