Skip to main content
Bates College Research Guides Library Home

Anthropology: Research Methods

Scholarly articles of empirical research will contains sections on "Methods" and "Data" that describe how the research was conducted. As you develop your own research projects, you may need more information about the details of social science methodology.

Little Blue Books

This series from Sage, "Qualitative Research Methods" (little and blue), are concise, standard guides to specific methodologies. They can be identified in CBBCat, the library catalog, using the link below:

Other Books on Methods

The library catalog can identify other useful books on research methods with the subjects listed below:

Specific disciplines can be combined with Research or Research Methodology when searching by subject, to find books on the methodology of that field. For example:

Oxford Bibliographies

Some Oxford Bibliographies in Anthropology, Criminology, and Education focus on specific methodologies, with annotated lists of introductory texts, notable examples, data sources, and critiques.

International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences

The IESBS has many brief articles on social science methodologies, with bibliographies to direct you to relevant guides and handbooks. Those listed below are a sampling, but you can search the encyclopedia to find many more.

Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology

Though obviously focused on sociology, the Blackwell Encyclopedia has short articles on qualitative methods, with suggestions for further reading at the end. Below is a selection, but all methods-related articles can be read online.