Skip to main content

Chicago Citation Style

Books

(CMS17 14.100-163)

Full Note

Note Number. Firstname M. Lastname, Title and Subtitle of the Book (City: Publisher, Year of Publication), Page number(s).

1. Laurel Thatcher Ulrich, A Midwife's Tale: The Life of Martha Ballard, Based on Her Diary, 1785-1812 (New York: Vintage, 1991), 174.

Short Note

Must be preceded by the full citation somewhere in the work.  CMS 17 prefers this format for ALL subsequent citations, but allows for the use of 'ibid.' for a consecutive citation from exactly the same source. (CMS17 14.29-36)

Note Number. Lastname, Short Title, Page number(s).

1. Laurel Thatcher Ulrich, A Midwife's Tale: The Life of Martha Ballard, Based on Her Diary, 1785-1812 (New York: Vintage, 1991), 174.

...

47. Ulrich, A Midwife's Tale, 24.

Ibid.

If the next note is exactly the same work; capitalize and follow by a period; only include page number(s) if different (CMS17 14.34).

Note Number. Ibid., Page number(s).

1. Laurel Thatcher Ulrich, A Midwife's Tale: The Life of Martha Ballard, Based on Her Diary, 1785-1812 (New York: Vintage, 1991), 174.

2. Ibid.

3. Ibid., 175.

Bibliography

Lastname, Firstname M. Title and Subtitle of the Book. City: Publisher, Year of Publication.

Ulrich, Laurel Thatcher. A Midwife's Tale: The Life of Martha Ballard, Based on Her Diary, 1785-1812. New York: Vintage, 1991.

Edited Books

(CMS16 14.76)

Full Note

Editors as Authors -- include the abbreviation ed(s). after the names.  Otherwise, follow other author guidelines.

Note Number. Firstname M. Lastname, ed., Title and Subtitle of the Book (City: Publisher, Year of Publication), Page number(s).

1. Donald W. Harward and Ashley P. Finley, eds., Transforming Undergraduate Education: Theory That Compels, and Practices That Succeed (Lanham, Md.: Rowman & Littlefield, 2012), x.

Short Note

Must be preceded by the full citation somewhere in the work (CMS17 14.29-36).

Note Number. Lastname, Short Title, Page number(s).

24. Harward and Finley, eds., Transforming Undergraduate Education, v.

Bibliography

Lastname, Firstname M., ed. Title and Subtitle of the Book. City: Publisher, Year of Publication.

Harward, Donald W. and Ashley P. Finley, eds. Transforming Undergraduate Education: Theory That Compels, and Practices That Succeed Lanham, Md.: Rowman & Littlefield, 2012.

2 or 3 Authors or Editors

(CMS16 14.76)

Full Note

Give all the authors' names and spell out the word 'and' before the last author.  For three authors: A comma follows each name.

Note Number. Firstname M. Lastname, Secondname M. Lastname, and Thirdname M. Latname,   Title and Subtitle of the Book (City: Publisher, Year of Publication), Page number(s).

1. J. Peter Burkholder, Donald Jay Grout, and Claude V. Palisca, A History of Western Music (New York: W. W. Norton, 2010), 57.

2. Christine Alexander and Margaret Smith, The Oxford Companion to the Brontës (Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2003), 192-3.

Short Note

Must be preceded by the full citation somewhere in the work (CMS17 14.29-36).

Note Number. Lastname, Lastname, and Lastname, Short Title, Page number(s).

6. Alexander and Smith, Oxford Companion to the Brontës, 177.

7. Burkholder, Grout, and Palisca, History of Western Music, 13.

Bibliography:

Lastname, Firstname M., Secondname M. Lastname, and Thirdname M. Lastname. Title and Subtitle of the Book. City: Publisher, Year of Publication.

Alexander, Christine and Margaret Smith. The Oxford Companion to the Brontës. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2003.

Burkholder, J. Peter, Donald Jay Grout, and Claude V. Palisca. A History of Western Music. New York: W. W. Norton.

4 to 10 Authors or Editors

(CMS16 14.76)

Full Note

Give the first author's name followed by "et al." in the footnote.  All authors' names should be given in the bibliography.

Note Number. Firstname M. Lastname et al.,  Title and Subtitle of the Book (City: Publisher, Year of Publication), Page number(s).

1. Linda K. Kerber et al., eds., Women's America: Refocusing the Past, 8th ed. (New York: Oxford University Press, 2016), 69.

Short Note (must be preceded by the full citation somewhere in the work)

Note Number. Lastname et al., Short Title, Page number(s).

6. Kerber et al., Women's America, 143.

Bibliography:

Lastname, Firstname M., Secondname M. Lastname, ... and Finalname M. Lastname. Title and Subtitle of the Book. City: Publisher, Year of Publication.

Kerber, Linda K., Jane Sherron De Hart, Cornelia Hughes Dayton, and Judy Tzu-Chun Wu. Women's America: Refocusing the Past​.  8th ed. New York: Oxford University Press, 2016.

Chapter or other Parts of a Book

(CMS16 14.111-117)

Full Note

Note Number. Firstname M. Lastname, "Chapter Title in Quotes," in Title and Subtitle of the Book, in ed. Firstname M. Lastname (City: Publisher, Year of Publication), Page number(s).

17. Barbara Sellers-Young, "Men and the Happiness Dance," in The Oxford Handbook of Dance and Ethnicity, eds. Anthony Shay and Barbara Sellers-Young (New York: Oxford University Press, 2016), 599.

Short Note

Must be preceded by the full citation somewhere in the work.  Last name(s) only.  Shortened chapter title.  Shortened book title is optional:

Note Number. Lastname, "Short Chapter Title," Page number(s).

24. Sellers-Young, "Happiness Dance," 600.

OR

24.  Sellers-Young, "Happiness Dance," in Shay and Sellers-Young, Handbook of Dance and Ethnicity, 600.

Bibliography:

Lastname, Firstname M. "Title of Section in Quotes." In Title of Book,  edited by Editorfirst Editorlast, page(s). Place: Publisher, Date.

If you are only citing one section of a book:

Sellers-Young, Barbara. "Men and the Happiness Dance." In The Oxford Handbook of Dance and Ethnicity, edited by Anthony Shay and Barbara Sellers-Young,  598-612. New York: Oxford University Press, 2016.

If you are citing more than one section, you can either use a shortened book title for each section, followed by a full citation for the book, or simply a full citation for the book without individual chapters.

Either:

Ruyter, Nancy Lee. "La Meri: Purveyor of the Dancing Other." In Shay and Sellers-Young, Handbook of Dance and Ethnicity, 438-453.

Sellers-Young, Barbara. "Men and the Happiness Dance." In Shay and Sellers-Young, Handbook of Dance and Ethnicity, 598-612.

Shay, Anthony and Barbara Sellers-Young, eds. The Oxford Handbook of Dance and Ethnicity. New York: Oxford University Press, 2016.

Or more concisely:

Shay, Anthony and Barbara Sellers-Young, eds. The Oxford Handbook of Dance and Ethnicity. New York: Oxford University Press, 2016.