Research Guides: *Russian: Getting Started in Russian

Best Bets in Russian

Here's how to get started in research for Russian culture, literature and language:

Reference Materials, such as encyclopedia entries in the books listed below, will give you an overview of Russian culture and history.
Newspapers based in Russia will be a good place to look for contemporary events and an archive of recent events in Russia.
Databases will contain secondary sources that provide interpretation and discussion of topics and issues in Russian Studies.

Here are some selected reference materials to get you started in research on Russia:

Cultural Atlas of Russia and the Former Soviet Union by Robin Miner-Gulland; Nikolai Dejeuski
Location: OVERSIZE DK32 .M62 1998

ISBN: 0816038155

Published: 1998-10-01

Providing a spectacular re-creation of a historical culture through a dazzling melding of text, maps, and illustrations, the Cultural Atlas of Russia and the Former Soviet Union presents a captivating survey of Russian civilization;one that reveals Russia in all its variety and uniqueness. This comprehensive resource links geography, history, archaeology, anthropology, and the arts.
Russia : a reference guide from the Renaissance to the present by Mauricio Borrero
Location: REF DK36 .B59 2004

ISBN: 0816044546

Covering influential individuals, significant places, and important policies, it provides readers with a greater understanding of Russian history. A narrative history, chronology, and A-Z entries are included.
Culture and Customs of Russia [e-book] by Sydney Schultze
Encompassing the nation's evolution from its inception to the dissolution of the Soviet Union and the contemporary era, this comprehensive exploration includes topics such as the land, populace, and historical narrative; intellectual and religious perspectives; marital dynamics, gender roles, child-rearing, and education; festivities and recreational pursuits; literary achievements; the performing arts; and architectural developments.

Nexis Uni
Full-text news, law, and business-related research from around the world, with excellent coverage from Europe. Publication dates: Varies by titles; 1980s to the present. L/N lexis nexis nexus lexus lexisnexis

MLA International Bibliography
An excellent database for literature research and literary criticism, including Russian language, literature, linguistics, and folklore articles and books.
JSTOR
This is a large academic database, with some coverage of articles on the humanities and social sciences that may have content on or about Russia and Soviet culture.
Oxford Bibliographies
A very good database for finding annotated topical bibliographies on various subjects. Try searching "Russia" for a comprehensive list of all entries on Russia.

Oxford Bibliographies offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on specific topics in a growing range of subject areas. There are at least 50 specific topical bibliographies in each subject area. Each of these features an introduction to the topic. Bibliographies are browsable by subject area and are keyword searchable.
Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)
International affairs working papers, proceedings, and policy briefs. Publication dates: 1991 to present

she/her

Contact:

Ladd Library 131
(207) 786-8323
mwillia8@bates.edu

I am usually at the Research Desk Mon. 6-9, Tues. 1-4, and Wed. 10-1

Subjects: Art and Visual Culture, Classical and Medieval Studies, English, European Studies, French, Gender and Sexuality Studies, German, Greek (Ancient), Hispanic Studies, Languages and Literatures, Latin American and Latinx Studies, Russian