Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Guide for Faculty: Finding Online Course Materials for the Sciences

The Library strongly encourages faculty to select course readings that have been already licensed as electronic resources. To that end, Bates librarians have created these guides to finding ebooks and other resources universally available for students to use.  We are happy to facilitate your use of these resources and, if necessary, to work with you to find other materials.

Finding Ebooks Already Available Through the Library

Searching LibrarySearch+ for Ebooks

Full Text Online filter in LibrarySearch+Our online collections can be searched via LibrarySearch+. Simply select the Full Text Online option in the upper left to limit to online resources.

Alternatively, you can search in the box below, which automatically limits to online only.

You can also search CBBcat for ebooks only by changing "Search Entire CBB Collection" to "e-Books."

Collections of Ebooks

We subscribe or own a number of collections from select university presses. All of the below are also listed in LibrarySearch+.

Large collections, varied publishers

By Publisher

Note: For many of these collections, Faculty and Student access is limited to subset of the entire collection.

Whenever possible, it is helpful to limit your search results to available content only.

Handbooks

Finding Streaming Video

Finding Open Educational Resources

OER are textbooks and other materials that are freely available online. The search engines below index OER across disciplines.

MOM iconMason OER Metafinder (MOM)
 
Advanced Search

For even more resources for locating OER, please see our OER guide and contact your research librarian.

Finding Resources for Multimedia Presentations

Music Licensed for Online Presentations

While there are many sources for "free" music on the web, Bates strongly recommends using Audioblocks, as the music is fully licensed for all forms of presentation, including web, for-profit broadcasting, and fundraising. 

Images and Graphics for Online Presentations

All of these resources offer either Creative Commons Licensed or Royalty Free images for online projects.  Make sure that the licenses allow the sorts of use intended, and adhere to individual license stipulations.  It is important to check the licenses offered.  Many images that are Public Domain or freely available outside the United States are still covered by US Copyright.

PLEASE AVOID COPYING AND PASTING IMAGES FROM THE INTERNET OR FROM LARGE STOCK MEDIA MARKETPLACES, AS THESE IMAGES CANNOT BE LEGALLY USED IN OPEN INTERNET PRESENTATIONS.

How to Link to Electronic Resources

getting a permanent link in LibrarySearch+To ensure your students have off campus access to materials available from the Bates licensed ebook and film collections listed on this guide, it is important to include a proxied link that prompts for Bates login credentials. 

The simplest way to do this is to use the short link available from a LibrarySearch+ search result. The video below will walk you through it.