It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Guide for Faculty: Finding Online Course Materials for Languages
The Library strongly encourages faculty to select course readings that have been already licensed as electronic resources. To that end, Bates librarians have created these guides to finding ebooks and other resources universally available for students to use. We are happy to facilitate your use of these resources and, if necessary, to work with you to find other materials.
Finding Language Resources
These resources serve to replace textbooks and other course material with freely available online options. Some have print versions for purchase. They encompass lessons, exercises, quizzes, practice sheets, videos, and teaching materials. Many have been peer-reviewed.
The Center for Open Educational Resources & Language Learning (COERLL) is one of 16 National Foreign Language Resource Centers (LRC's) funded by the U.S. Department of Education. The overall mission of these federally-funded centers is to improve the teaching and learning of foreign languages by producing resources (materials and best practices) that can be profitably employed in a variety of settings.
Free self-directed language instruction focusing on everyday conversational skills. Offers Latin American Spanish, French, German, Italian, Brazilian, Portuguese, Dutch, Swedish Irish, Turkish, Danish, Russian, Norwegian Bokmål, Esperanto, Ukrainian, Polish, and Welsh, at least.
Multidisciplinary video collection. Click on "Filter your results" to limit by language.
Finding Resources for Multimedia Presentations
Music Licensed for Online Presentations
While there are many sources for "free" music on the web, Bates strongly recommends using Audioblocks, as the music is fully licensed for all forms of presentation, including web, for-profit broadcasting, and fundraising.
High quality production music, licensed for use in educational and campus projects. Can be searched by Mood, Genre, and Instrument. Click on "Login" (upper right corner) , then "IP Authorization" to access.
Images and Graphics for Online Presentations
All of these resources offer either Creative Commons Licensed or Royalty Free images for online projects. Make sure that the licenses allow the sorts of use intended, and adhere to individual license stipulations. It is important to check the licenses offered. Many images that are Public Domain or freely available outside the United States are still covered by US Copyright.
PLEASE AVOID COPYING AND PASTING IMAGES FROM THE INTERNET OR FROM LARGE STOCK MEDIA MARKETPLACES, AS THESE IMAGES CANNOT BE LEGALLY USED IN OPEN INTERNET PRESENTATIONS.
Creative Commons licensed images that can be incorporated into academic projects. Check to make sure that the CC license to use the material matches your needs. Also be careful that the license is actually valid in the United States. Some content may be in the Public Domain in other countries, but not in the US.
Canva is a design resource that includes a free account with limited free images and graphics. Canva Pro accounts give access to more media, but require a current subscription. Most students succeed using the free resources.
Over 1.6 million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research. Free registration required to download images. Coverage: Ancient to contemporary
Particularly strong in all areas of art, architecture, design, and illustration (including maps) but also featuring images relevant to the humanities and sciences.
Finding Ebooks Already Available Through the Library
Searching LibrarySearch+ for Ebooks
Our online collections can be searched via LibrarySearch+. Simply select the Full Text Online option in the upper left to limit to online resources.
Alternatively, you can search in the box below, which automatically limits to online only.
You can also search CBBcat for ebooks only by changing "Search Entire CBB Collection" to "e-Books."
Collections of Ebooks
We subscribe or own a number of collections from select university presses. All of the below are also listed in LibrarySearch+.
Language-related books from Cambridge University Press.
Finding Open Educational Resources
OER are textbooks and other materials that are freely available online. The search engines below index OER across disciplines.
Mason OER Metafinder (MOM)
For even more resources for locating OER, please see our OER guide and contact your research librarian.
How to Link to Electronic Resources
To ensure your students have off campus access to materials available from the Bates licensed ebook and film collections listed on this guide, it is important to include a proxied link that prompts for Bates login credentials.
The simplest way to do this is to use the short link available from a LibrarySearch+ search result. The video below will walk you through it.