Research Guides: *English: CMEN344: Chaucer and his Context

Reference Materials and Books on Chaucer

Critical companion to Chaucer : a literary reference to his life and work

Chaucer : a bibliographical introduction

A Chaucer name dictionary : a guide to astrological, biblical, historical, literary, and mythological names in the works of Geoffrey Chaucer

The Oxford Companion to Chaucer

The Cambridge Companion to Chaucer

Open Access Companion to the Canterbury Tales

Research Articles and Article Indexes on Chaucer

Subject-specific databases are designed for research in English, and house a wealth of scholarly articles, books, and resources on Chaucer.

These databases curate a vast collection of scholarly articles, books, and materials that delve into Chaucer's life, works, and their significance within English literature. Researchers can access critical analyses, historical context, and interpretations that contribute to a comprehensive understanding of Chaucer's literary contributions, societal impact, and linguistic evolution.

International Medieval Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Medieval studies journal articles, essay collections and conference proceedings. Publication dates: 1967 to present
The International Medieval Bibliography is a comprehensive bibliography of j in this this interdisciplinary field. Areas covered include classics, English language and literature, history and archaeology, theology and philosophy, Medieval European languages and literatures, Arabic and Islamic studies, history of education, art history, music, theatre and performance arts, rhetoric and communication studies. Dates covered range from 400 to 1500 A.D., and geographic coverage includes Europe, the Middle East, and North Africa. The database also allows users to search the Bibliographie de Civilisation Medievale, an index of over 40,000 books and 64,000 book reviews on medieval topics since 1957.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Modern literature, language, linguistics, and folklore journal articles and books. Citations with links to full text. Publication dates: 1926 to present
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Full-text scholarly journals. Publication dates: mostly 1960 to present (some earlier)

Chaucer Bibliography Online
The Chaucer Bibliography Online is supported by The University of Texas at San Antonio Library and The New Chaucer Society. This bibliography includes Chaucer studies from 1975 until the present.
Oxford Bibliographies- Chaucer
An in depth and comprehensive bibliography about Chaucer, his works, and his place in medieval literature.

Digital Projects on Chaucer

Numerous digital resources are available for studying Chaucer. These resources provide access to critical analyses, historical context, and interpretations, enabling researchers to delve into Chaucer's literary prowess, societal impact, and linguistic evolution. These digital platforms serve as compelling digital additions to the study of Chaucer, offering visualizations and other projects in digital humanities worth considering.

Chaucer Bibliography Online
The Chaucer Bibliography Online is supported by The University of Texas at San Antonio Library and The New Chaucer Society. This bibliography includes Chaucer studies from 1975 until the present.
The New Chaucer Society
The purpose of the New Chaucer Society is to provide a forum for teachers and scholars of Geoffrey Chaucer and his age.
Visualizing Chaucer
This Robbins Library Digital Project seeks to capture postmedieval illustrated versions of Chaucer’s work. The project provides annotations for books containing illustrated versions of Chaucer’s writings and organizes these images by character/work for easy accessibility.

Humanities Librarian

Marianne Williams

she/her

Contact:

Ladd Library 131
(207) 786-8323
mwillia8@bates.edu

I am usually at the Research Desk Mon. 6-9, Tues. 1-4, and Wed. 10-1

Subjects: Art and Visual Culture, Classical and Medieval Studies, English, European Studies, French, Gender and Sexuality Studies, German, Greek (Ancient), Hispanic Studies, Languages and Literatures, Latin American and Latinx Studies, Russian

*English

New Books on Chaucer