Covers persons, places, organizations, and terminology associated with the study of western classical, popular, and world music.
Includes access to Grove Music Online, The Oxford Companion to Music, and The Oxford Dcitionary of Music. Grove Music Online is a continuously updated and comprehensive music resource on the web, including the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, edited by Stanley Sadie and John Tyrrell (second edition; 29 volumes; London, 2001), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, edited by Stanley Sadie (4 volumes; London, 1992), and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, edited by Barry Kernfeld (second edition; 3 volumes; London, 2002).
Search Oxford Music Online for basic facts and background information on the history of music. While the emphasis is on Western classical music, American music and jazz are also very well covered. Grove Dictionary of Music entries include complete works lists for composers, and the bibliographies associated with the entries are definitive.
Inventory of primary sources in archives around the world. Coverage is mostly 1600-1850 but is constantly expanding.
The International Inventory of Musical Sources (RISM) is an international, non-profit joint venture which aims to comprehensively document the world's musical sources of manuscripts or printed music, works on music theory and libretti stored in libraries, archives, monasteries, schools and private collections. RISM documents what exists and where it is stored.
Although the bulk of the material is from the classical-music-oriented New Grove Dictionary of Music, content includes the Grove Dictionaries of Musical Instruments, Jazz, and American Music. In all cases the entries are perfect starting places for in-depth research, and the bibliographies are definitive collections of both primary and secondary sources.
Includes access to Grove Music Online, The Oxford Companion to Music, and The Oxford Dcitionary of Music. Grove Music Online is a continuously updated and comprehensive music resource on the web, including the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, edited by Stanley Sadie and John Tyrrell (second edition; 29 volumes; London, 2001), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, edited by Stanley Sadie (4 volumes; London, 1992), and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, edited by Barry Kernfeld (second edition; 3 volumes; London, 2002).
Entire text of Richard Taruskin's monumental work on Western common practice music. Idiosyncratic, but comprehensive in scope. Full text can be searched, read online and/or printed by section. Publication dates: European and American influenced classical music ca. 750 to 2000 C.E.
Location: Link is to online versions. Print volumes are also in available in CBBcat.
Includes the histories of 15th, 17th, 18th, 19th, and 20th Century music, as well as the Cambridge Histories of World Music, American Music and Western Music Theory.
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music by 
The Oxford History of Western Music by