It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Contemporary World Music (ASP Music Online)This link opens in a new windowPopular musical genres include: reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bhangra, Arab swing and jazz, and many others. Traditional music genres include: Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku, etc.
DRAM (Database of Recorded American Music)This link opens in a new windowStreamed CD quality audio, complete and original liner notes and essays. Coverage ranges from folk to opera, Native American to jazz, 19th century classical to early rock, musical theater, contemporary, electronic and more.
Recordings of American music (with liner notes, essays, bibliographies, and discographies) on important labels such as New World Records, Composers Recordings, Inc. and more.
Interface which allows for searching across several Alexander Street Press sound recording databases: American Song; 1) Classical Music Library, 2) Contemporary World Music; 3) Jazz Music Library; and 4) Smithsonian Global Sound. Music & Performing Arts offers thousands of audio recordings. Indexed for subjects, historical events, genres, people, cultural groups, places, time periods, ensembles. Includes a broad range of American music recordings, with particular strength in blues, jazz, and folk.
Naxos Music Library is the most comprehensive collection of classical music available online. It includes the complete Naxos, Marco Polo and Dacapo catalogues of over 85,000 tracks, including Classical music, Jazz, World, Folk and Chinese music. While listening, you can read notes on the works being played as well as biographical information on composers or artists in Naxos's extensive database.
The largest database of streamed music. Covering all forms of classical and popular music. Major labels include: Warner, Verve, Smithsonian Folkways, Motown, Rounder, Document Records, Hyperion, Chandos
From the website: "The Association for Cultural Equity (ACE) is custodian of the Alan Lomax Archive, a priceless collection for recorded music, dance, and the spoken word. Our mission is to facilitate cultural equity. We preserve, publish, repatriate and freely disseminate our collections. ACE practices 'cultural feedback' by disseminating thousands of recordings, photos and videos, free online resources and partners, and publishing partners, and publishing; by repatriating artists, rights and royalties to their estates and families; and, with the full participation of local institutional partners, by repatriating recordings, film, photos, with our comprehensive notes and data, to those communities."
A national preserve of documentary films about American roots cultures streamed with essays about the traditions and filmmaking. The site includes transcriptions, study and teaching guides, suggested readings, and links to related websites.
Accessible content consists primarily of 1600+ field recordings of East African (primarily Ugandan) music recorded by ethnomusicologist Centurio Balikoowa. Includes numerous performances dedicated to HIV/AIDS awareness.
Amongst the hundreds of hours of ethnographic sound, it is known that much is unique, or extremely rare, and not deposited elsewhere. The Louis Sarno collection from the Central African Republic, for example, is unprecedented in its scope and duration and is linked to a collection of 1200 images held by the Museum that will shed much light on the music and culture of a little-known and threatened community, the Bayaka of Central African Republic. The recordings by Edward Evans-Pritchard, one of the most significant anthropologists of the twentieth century, are almost completely unknown, but will now enable us to understand his fieldwork and important collections of objects and photographs from South Sudan in an entirely new way. Although of mostly poor audio quality, these wax cylinder recordings offer a unique insight into the history of ethnographic fieldwork, and the potential now exists for indigenous communities to engage with their cultural history.