Research Guides: *Music: Music and Performance Reviews

Arts Reviews

New York Times (1851-2018) This link opens in a new window
This version offers scanned copies of every available page and every article in the newspaper. Includes all images and advertisements.

The New Yorker
Published: 1925-present
Includes lengthy film reviews including ones by Pauline Kael that set the standard for future critics.

Los Angeles Times (1881-1997) This link opens in a new window
Excellent source on the film industry. Also good information on west coast music and art.

The Village Voice
Good source for alternative takes on the arts. New York focused, but includes extensive film reviews.

Sources for reviews of shows outside the major metropolitan areas:

ProQuest News and Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Full text of nearly 1000 national and regional newspapers, including ethnic press and international news in English.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Includes newspapers from around the United States and the world.

In addition to the Newspapers and Magazines listed on the first tab, the following resources may lead to authoritative and scholarly reviews:

Screen Studies Collection This link opens in a new window
Combines Film Index International and the AFI Catalog. Extensive bibliography of film news and reviews associated with each entry. Reviews are not full text.
Includes FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Database and the detailed and complementary filmographies created by the American Film Institute and the British Film Institute; AFI Catalog and Film Index International.
Movie Review Query Engine (MRQE) This link opens in a new window
Reviews and ratings posted directly to this commercial site may not be useful for scholarship, the links to online reviews in more reliable sources are comprehensive.

RogerEbert.com
A well curated website featuring full text of many of Ebert's film reviews, as well as analytical reviews of new films published by Ebert's widow and collaborators.

Readers' Guide Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Good index to older film reviews from popular magazines.
Incorporates (through 1982) the printed Nineteenth century readers' guide to periodical literature, 1890-1899, and Readers' guide to periodical literature.

Film Review Index
Location: Reference Z5784.M9 F513 1986 v.1-2
Comprehensive index of film reviews from 1882-1985.

Music Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
Includes reviews from popular (not necessarily scholarly) sources respected in the music industry.
Music, music education, performance, ethnomusicology, musical theatre, theory, popular music, and composition.

Fanfare
Almost exclusively classical music. Reviews are in-depth and cover many issues in the performance and recording of music.

DownBeat Magazine -- Reviews
Jazz focused, with some modern crossover artists. Includes a growing, searchable archive of historic recording and performance reviews.
Rolling Stone : CD Reviews
Reviews of a broad range of popular music. Also reviews of movies and DVDs.

Drama Criticism
60+ volumes of reviews and criticism reprinted from both historic and contemporary sources. Part of the Gale Literature Resource Center
Critical Survey of Drama
Location: Reference PN1625 .C68 2003 v.1-8
Basic synopses and bibliography of major works by well-known playwrights. Arranged by author.