Latin American and Latinx Studies

The Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC) is a cooperative of partners within the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean that provides users with access to Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials held in archives, libraries, and private collections.

Digitized pamphlets published during the 19th and the early 20th centuries, from Harvard.

A list compiled by Johns Hopkins University, organized by topic and geography.

Selections from maps, documents, paintings, prints, and artifacts that make up the Jay I. Kislak Collection at the Library of Congress.

This site provides links to open access digitized collections of primary sources that relate to Latin America and the Caribbean. The materials listed are freely available to the public and were created or are hosted at an academic institution associated with SALALM (Seminar on the Acquisition of Latin American Library Materials)

A collection of digitized images and books in English, Spanish, Portuguese, French, and indigenous languages from across the Americas and Western Hemisphere.

The catalog for Spain’s National Archives, including digitized documents for Spain and the Spanish world.

Links to online collections relating to Spain, the Spanish Americas, and US Latinx populations.

These are books from Duke University Press for individual countries, providing a collection of primary sources and essays.

The Benson Library at UT Austin collection digital primary sources including the Archive of the Indigenous Languages of Latin America, the Human Rights Documentation Initiative, the Latin American Government Documents Archive, Onda Latina, Primeros Libros de las Américas, VOCES Oral History Project, early maps, and more.

Princeton's Latin American Ephemera Collection contains thousands of digitized pamphlets, brochures, flyers, posters, placards and other printed items created since around the last quarter of the 20th century by a wide variety of social activists, non-governmental organizations, government agencies, political parties, public policy think tanks, and other types of organizations across Latin America, in order to publicize their views, positions, agendas, policies, events, and activities. Screen reader support enabled.

Includes: Early Images of Latin America, Cuban-American Radionovelas (1963-1970), Mesoamerican Painted Manuscripts, and Mexican Incunabula (1559-1600).

The Ibero-American Heritage Digital Library (BDPI) is a project promoted by the Association of National Libraries of Ibero-America (ABINIA) that aims to create a portal that allows access from a single point of consultation to the digital resources of all the participating libraries.

Site languages: Spanish and English. Streaming film and documentaries from Argentina.

Site Language: Spanish. Video collection mainly focused on literary topics such as interviews, poetic readings, and theatrical representations.

A multi volume series from the colonial period to the present, covering Latin America, Mexico, and the Caribbean.

Available online and in print: E77 .N62 1996

Early Caribbean texts, including novels, travel narratives, natural histories, colonial documentation, obeah narratives, and slave narratives

Digital collection of Latin American travel accounts from the 16th-19th centuries in Brown University's Special Collections. Includes browse-by-country function, essays, and bibliography.

Launched in 2009, the World Digital Library (WDL) was a project of the U.S. Library of Congress, with the support of UNESCO, and contributions from libraries, archives, museums, educational institutions, and international organizations around the world.