SOC 405 - Senior Capstone in Sociology - *Sociology - Research Guides at Bates College

Article Indexes

SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Sociology and related disciplines.
Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window
HAPI Online (Hispanic American Periodicals Index) This link opens in a new window
ERIC This link opens in a new window
Education.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Sciences and social sciences journal article citations. Searchable by author affiliation and citation count.
CogPrints
ArXiv.org
OAI
US Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO)
European Patent Office
Japan Patent Office
World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO)
UK Intellectual Property Office

Top Five Things You Should Know About the Library

Interlibrary loan
Even if Bates doesn't own the book or journal you need...we can almost always get it for you from another library.
EndNote
You don't have to type up your citations by hand--EndNote can format them for you.
Primary sources and data
Do you need datasets, official documents, personal narratives and other things that aren't scholarly journal articles? Christine can help you find them.
Thesis Writers' Guide
Handy templates and guides on formatting.
One-on-one consultations
We can meet with you to discuss your research in depth.

The literature review process. From Diana Ridley, The Literature Review: A Step-by-Step Guide for Students (2008), p. 81

What can we get out of literature reviews and annotated bibliographies?

The following are examples of an annotated bibliography, a stand-alone literature review journal article, and a literature review within an empirical study.

Oxford Bibliography: Poverty
Desmond, Matthew and Bruce Western. "Poverty in America: New Directions and Debates." Annual Review of Sociology 44, no. 1 (2018): 305-318. https://www.annualreviews.org/doi/full/10.1146/annurev-soc-060116-053411
Edin, Kathryn. "What Do Low-Income Single Mothers Say about Marriage?" Social Problems 47, no. 1 (2000): 112-33. doi:10.2307/3097154. (just the introduction and lit review)

With a group, discuss one of the above sources, focusing on the following questions:

Can you find an example of theory mentioned in the text?
Can you find an example of a debate in the field described in the text?
Can you find an example of a methodology mentioned in the text?

Don't be stuck in the past. Try citation searching.

Scouring bibliographies is a great idea. But that will only find you older sources. What if you want newer sources?

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Click on "Cited By" to see citing articles.
From academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Huge database of articles in science and social sciences. Will tell you who has cited a particular article.
Semantic Scholar This link opens in a new window
In addition to listing citing articles, this search engine uses AI to identify highly influenced papers.

Christine Murray

Contact:

Ladd Library 132
(207) 786-6268
cmurray2@bates.edu

I am usually at the Research Desk Mon. 10-1, Tues. 6-9, and Thurs. 1-4

Subjects: African Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Chinese, Economics, Environmental Studies, History, Japanese, Languages and Literatures, Legal Studies, Politics, Psychology, Sociology, U. S. History

*Sociology: SOC 405 - Senior Capstone in Sociology

Article Indexes

Top Five Things You Should Know About the Library

What can we get out of literature reviews and annotated bibliographies?

Don't be stuck in the past. Try citation searching.