Research Guides: *Sociology: SOC 256: Social Movements

Finding Organizations

CQ Researcher (2006-present) This link opens in a new window
An excellent starting point for articles on controversial topics, 1923 to present. Includes contacts for organizations plus chronologies of events.

Open Secrets: Interest Groups
Find the organizations that spend the most money lobbying Congress on particular issues.

Organization Information - Current

From Organization Websites

Most organizations will have websites with the following items to look for:

Annual reports
May contain important events, financial information, and a letter from the leadership.
Mission statements
How the organization conceives of its mission.
Staff and directors
Who is in charge.
History
How the organization sees its history.

News Sources

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Search news articles for organizations; it is helpful to put organization names in quotation marks for precise searching.

Times Topics
Articles from NY Times arranged by issue or by organization.

Tax and Financial Information

This information will allow you to compare organizations according to the resources they have available.

990 Finder
Search for recent tax forms for non-profits. These include financial statistics and top-paid employees. Because many organizations have local chapters, to find the national organization it may be easier to search by Employer Identification Number.
Open Secrets Organization Profiles
Search for organizations to find what they spend on political contributions and lobbying. The search is very precise, so try using as few words as possible.

Organization Information - Historical

Reference works

Encyclopedias and historical dictionaries can give overviews of the scope of a movement. Some are available online; some are in print in the Bates Reference section.

Public Interest Group Profiles 2006-2007 by CQ Press
Location: JK1118 .P78
Published: 2006
Although dated in that it ceased publication in 2006-2007, this series is still quite useful in identifying older organizations according to issue, including information on membership, influence, and methods. Previously published in 2004, and as Public Interest Profiles biennially between 1988 and 2001.
Encyclopedia of American Social Movements by Immanuel Ness
Location: Reference HN57 .E594 2004
Published: 2004
Print resource on social movements in American history.
Historical Dictionary of the Civil Rights Movement by Richardson and Luker
Published: 2014
Available online. Includes a chronology of events, bibliography of sources, and biographies.
The Native American Rights Movement
Location: Bates Reference KF8203.36 .G76 1996
Published: 1996
This comprehensive reference source follows the history of efforts to preserve and recover the civil rights of American Indians in the United States.
Encyclopedia of the Mexican American Civil Rights Movement by Gutiérrez and Meier
Published: 2000
Available online. Covers concepts, issues, plans, legislation, court decisions, events, organizations, and people involved in the movement.
Historical Encyclopedia of American Labor
Location: Bates Reference HD8066 .H57 2004
Published: 2004

Scholarly articles

America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Article index for American history. Search for organizations in quotation marks for precise searching.

Books in the catalog

CBBCat Advanced Keyword Search
Search for books at Bates, Bowdoin, and Colby. Useful subjects include:
- Pressure groups
- Animal rights movement
- Civil rights movements
- Environmentalism
- Gay liberation movement
- Indians of North America -- Civil rights
- Labor movement
- Pro-life movement
- Pro-choice movement
- Human rights movement

The following are book series on controversial social issues:

General Sources on Social Movements

Social Movements: Oxford Bibliographies

The Blackwell Companion to Social Movements
Location: HM881 .B53 2004
Published: 2004
Handbook of Social Movements Across Disciplines
Location: Available online.
Published: 2009
Methods of Social Movement Research
Location: HM881 .M475 2002
Published: 2002