Research Guides: *Religious Studies: REL 272

Topic Overviews for Religious Studies

Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Topical bibliographies in the humanities and social sciences. Oxford Bibliography
Oxford Bibliographies offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on specific topics in a growing range of subject areas. There are at least 50 specific topical bibliographies in each subject area. Each of these features an introduction to the topic. Bibliographies are browsable by subject area and are keyword searchable.

Encyclopedia of Religion Second edition of a resource that is considered a standard reference in the field
Encyclopedia of Islam Very comprehensive encyclopedia on Islam

Encyclopedia of Women and Islamic Cultures This link opens in a new window
An interdisciplinary, trans-historical, and global work discussing women and Islamic cultures in every region where there have been significant Muslim populations.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Dictionaries, language reference, and subject reference works, including the Oxford Companions series.

Databases for locating books and articles

LibrarySearch
Simultaneously search all Bates Databases and Books and ebooks in the Bates, Colby, and Bowdoin collections. Books located at Colby or Bowdoin can be obtained by the "CBB Request" link visible once you sign in.

Atla Religion Database This link opens in a new window
Religious studies journal articles, essays, and book reviews. Publication dates: 1949 to present
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Humanities, social sciences, and science full text journals. Recent years not included.

Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.

SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Sociology journal articles. Publication dates: 1895-present soc index
ProQuest News and Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Newspapers, broadcast transcripts, and wire service reports including NYT, Boston Globe, LA Times and Washington Post. 1850 to Current; varies with each title
Sun Journal (Lewiston, 2006-current) This link opens in a new window
Text only, no images. One day publication delay.
Portland Press Herald (1995-current) This link opens in a new window
September 30,1995 to current (with exceptions)

Citation Styles for Religious Studies

There are more than one recommended citation styles in Religious Studies. Chicago, MLA, and APA Styles are common choices for writers of Philosophy. Ask your professor if you are not sure which style to use.

Chicago Author-Date Citation Style
by Research Librarian Updated Oct 25, 2024 512 views this year
Chicago Notes-Bibliography Citation Style
by Christopher Schiff Updated Jun 14, 2023 8329 views this year
MLA Citation Style
by Marianne Williams Updated May 8, 2024 13006 views this year
APA Citation Style
by Christine Murray Updated Oct 28, 2024 996 views this year

Research Services Librarian

Ben Peck

He/Him/His

Contact:

Ladd Library 130
(207) 786-6264
bpeck@bates.edu

Subjects: Education, Philosophy, Religious Studies