Research Guides: *Middle Eastern Studies: Getting Started with Middle Eastern Studies

Topic Overviews

Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Use Islamic Studies, International Relations, Philosophy, Religious Studies, Political Science, and International Law modules.
Oxford Bibliographies offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on specific topics in a growing range of subject areas. There are at least 50 specific topical bibliographies in each subject area. Each of these features an introduction to the topic. Bibliographies are browsable by subject area and are keyword searchable.
Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new window
See Cambridge Histories of Egypt, Turkey, Iran, and Islam.
Encyclopaedia of Islam (2nd and 3rd editions) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive information on the world of Islam in disciplines ranging from religion and history to politics and culture.
Encyclopedia of Women and Islamic Cultures This link opens in a new window
An interdisciplinary, trans-historical, and global work discussing women and Islamic cultures in every region where there have been significant Muslim populations.

The Cambridge Companion to Modern Arab Culture
Location: Available online.
Published: 2015
The Cambridge Companion to Arabic Philosophy
Location: Available online and at B741 .C36 2005
Published: 2004
The Princeton Encyclopedia of Islamic Political Thought
Location: Available online.
Published: 2012
The Grove Encyclopedia of Islamic Art and Architecture
Location: Available online.
Published: 2009
The Cambridge Companion to the Qur'an
Location: Available online and at BP130 .C26 2006
Published: 2006

Encyclopedia of the Qur'an This link opens in a new window
Encyclopaedic dictionary of qur’ānic terms, concepts, personalities, place names, cultural history and exegesis extended with essays on the most important themes and subjects within qur’ānic studies. Koran koranic

duolingo This link opens in a new window
Free app for learning Turkish or Hebrew, among other languages.

Contact:

Ladd Library 132
(207) 786-6268
cmurray2@bates.edu

I am usually at the Research Desk Mon. 10-1, Tues. 6-9, and Thurs. 1-4

Subjects: African Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Chinese, Economics, Environmental Studies, History, Japanese, Languages and Literatures, Legal Studies, Politics, Psychology, Sociology, U. S. History

Contact:

Ladd Library 134
(207) 786-6274
cschiff@bates.edu

I am usually at the Research Desk Wed. 1-4, Thurs. 6-9, and Fri. 10-1

Subjects: Africana, American Studies, Dance, Film Studies, Languages and Literatures, Latin, Music, Rhetoric, Theater