Research Guides: *Japanese: Getting Started with Japanese

Best Bets for Japanese

Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) This link opens in a new window
Humanities and social sciences articles and book chapters on East, Southeast, and South Asia, in Western languages. Publication dates: 1971 to the present.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Modern literature, language, linguistics, and folklore journal articles and books. Citations with links to full text. Publication dates: 1926 to present

The Cambridge Companion to Modern Japanese Culture
Location: Available online.
Scholarly essays with bibliographies on aspects of Japanese culture, including music, sports, family, work, politics, and manga and anime.
Routledge Handbook of Modern Japanese Literature by Rachael Hutchinson (Editor); Leith Douglas Morton (Editor)
Published: 2016
The Cambridge History of Japan
A six volume series on the history of Japan from ancient times to the twentieth century.
The Cambridge History of Japanese Literature
Location: Available online
Published: 2015
Dictionary of Literary Biography
Location: Available online
Articles discussing the lives and careers of individual authors and summarizes critical responses to their work.
Includes Medieval Japanese Writers, Japanese Fiction Writers, 1868-1945, and Japanese Fiction Writers since World War II.
The Cambridge Handbook of Japanese Linguistics
Location: Available online
Published: 2018
A concise reference for researchers interested in the Japanese language.
Kodansha Encyclopedia of Japan
Location: Bates Reference DS805 .K633 1983
Published: 1983

Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) This link opens in a new window
Humanities and social sciences articles and book chapters on East, Southeast, and South Asia, in Western languages. Publication dates: 1971 to the present.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Modern literature, language, linguistics, and folklore journal articles and books. Citations with links to full text. Publication dates: 1926 to present
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
World history (except U.S. and Canada) journal articles. Historical period: 1450 to present. Publication dates: 1954 to present.

CiNii
Book and journal holdings of university libraries and other libraries in Japan with some available in full-text.

Zassaku Plus This link opens in a new window
Citations to periodical articles published in Japanese. Publication dates: 1868 - present

Yomidas (1874-present) This link opens in a new window
Archive of the Japanese newspaper Yomiuri Shimbun. Meiji, Taisho & Showa Eras (1874-1989) includes scans of print layout, Heisei & Reiwa Eras (1986-) includes transcribed text, and The Japan News (1989-) searches English language version. Limited to 3 simultaneous users.

Japanese Historical Map Collection
Contains about 2,300 digitized early maps of Japan and the World from the University of California.
Japanese Text Initiative
A collaborative project to make texts of classical Japanese literature available online, from the University of Virginia Library Electronic Text Center and the University of Pittsburgh East Asian Library
National Archives of Japan
National Archives of Japan Digital Archive provides access to the descriptions and digitized images of the historical records.
National Diet Library (Japan)
Available in Japanese and English
The Japanese American Evacuation and Resettlement Study (JERS)
The collection is comprised of daily journals, field reports, life histories, and secondary research materials collected and compiled by the research staff including 100,000 original manuscript items digitized form the US detainment of Japanese and Japanese-Americans.
Cultural Japan
Images related to Japanese culture published in museums, libraries, etc. around the world

Contact:

Ladd Library 132
(207) 786-6268
cmurray2@bates.edu

I am usually at the Research Desk Mon. 10-1, Tues. 6-9, and Thurs. 1-4

Subjects: African Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Chinese, Economics, Environmental Studies, History, Japanese, Languages and Literatures, Legal Studies, Politics, Psychology, Sociology, U. S. History