Research Guides: Earth and Climate Sciences: Earth and Climate Sciences Research Tools

General EACS Resources

Highlighted General Earth and Climate Sciences (EACS) Resources

Geological Society of America Field Guides
GSA's peer-reviewed Field Guide series features guides from field trips held at GSA meetings and those of other organizations. GSA Field Guides are provided here in PDF format and the well-illustrated paper within include detailed road logs and maps.
Access: 1999 to present.
Index to Geologic Guidebooks of North America
A searchable index of references to North American geologic field trip guidebooks.
Information includes the content within "The Union List of Geologic Field Trip Guidebooks of North America" (6th edition, 1996). References to select trips post 1996 continue to be added.
Complete description of Geologic Guidebooks Database
Earth Science World Image Bank
Over 6,000 quality geoscience images for the public, educators, and the geoscience community.

The Encyclopedia of Volcanoes by Bruce Houghton; Steve McNutt; Hazel Rymer; John Stix; Haraldur Sigurdsson (Editors)
Published: 2015
The Encyclopedia of Volcanoes summarizes our present knowledge of volcanoes and provides the only comprehensive reference work to cover all aspects of volcanology. It presents hundreds of color photographs, maps, charts and illustrations. Expensive, up to date and awesome.
Encyclopedia of Structural Geology and Plate Tectonics by Carl Seyfert (Editor)
Published: 2006
Online access to the Encyclopedia is available here. Note that online access is provided through web browser only. Content is not available for download.
Note that a physical copy of this Encyclopedia is also available in the Bates reference stacks.

Search For EACS Articles

GeoRef This link opens in a new window Geology/geosciences journal articles. Publication dates: 1669 to present (North America); 1933 to present (World) Geoscience geochemistry environmental geology hydrology economic geology geophysics petrology paleontology marine geology oceanography mineralogy
GeoScienceWorld This link opens in a new window Full text articles from all GeoScienceWorld journals. Also searches citations indexed in GeoRef, the most comprehensive bibliographic database in the geosciences. GeoScienceWorld allows you to search by geographic location as well as by keyword. Quickly limit your search area using the convenient world map. GeoScience World geo science
Scopus This link opens in a new window Sciences and social sciences journal article citations. Searchable by author affiliation and citation count. CogPrints ArXiv.org OAI US Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) European Patent Office Japan Patent Office World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) UK Intellectual Property Office
USGS Publications Warehouse This link opens in a new window U. S. Geological Survey publications including Professional Papers, Folios of the Geologic Atlas, the Hydrologic Atlas, Quadrangle Maps and Water Data Reports. Publication dates: 1870 to currentAnnual Report Antarctic Map Bulletin Circular Circum-Pacific Map Coal Map Data Series Fact Sheet Folios of the Geologic Atlas Geologic Quadrangle Geophysical Investigation Map Hydrologic Atlas Hydrologic Unit IMAP Land Use/ Land Cover Mineral Commodities Summaries Mineral Investigations Resource Map Field Studies Map Missouri Basin Study Oil and Gas Investigation Professional Paper Resource Publication Scientific Investigations Map Scientific Investigations Report Techniques and Methods Techniques of Water-Resource Investigation Trace Elements Investigations Trace Elements Memorandum USGS Unnumbered Series Water Data Report Water Supply Paper Water-Resources Investigations Report
A more complete listing of available USGS publications:
Annual Report
Antarctic Map
Bulletin
Circular
Circum-Pacific Map
Coal Map
Data Series
Fact Sheet
Folios of the Geologic Atlas
General Information Product
Geologic Quadrangle
Geophysical Investigation Map
Hydrologic Atlas
Hydrologic Unit
IMAP
Land Use/ Land Cover
Mineral Commodities Summaries
Mineral Investigations Resource Map
Miscellaneous Field Studies Map
Missouri Basin Study
Monograph
Oil and Gas Investigation Chart
Oil and Gas Investigation Map
Open-File Report
Professional Paper
Resource Publication
Scientific Investigations Map
Scientific Investigations Report
Techniques and Methods
Techniques of Water-Resource Investigation
Trace Elements Investigations
Trace Elements Memorandum
USGS Unnumbered Series
Unclassified
Water Data Report
Water Supply Paper
Water-Resources Investigations Report

SpringerLink: EarthSciences An extensive collection of high quality e-books and journals published by Springer. Although Bates has access to Springer content from many areas of study, this link is scoped to Earth Sciences.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window Articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions. Includes "Cited By" link when a work has been cited.
From academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.

Cold Regions Bibliography Project covers all disciplines related to the region including biological and geological sciences, medical sciences, meteorology, oceanography, atmospheric and terrestrial physics, expeditions, logistics equipment and supplies, and tourism. Please note: The Bibliography was last updated September 30, 2011.

Identify and Search Within Individual EACS Journals

Try Searching in a Single Journal:

If Bates has access to a specific journal, you can search within it very easily!

From the Ladd Library home page, select the "Journals by Title" link beneath the Library Search box.
On the resulting new page enter the title or ISSN of the journal you want to search.
Select your desired journal from the search results and then use the "Search Inside" box to search for articles within the journal.

Scholarly EACS Journals Available through Ladd Library

For help identifying quality, subject-specific journals, check out the "Journal Rankings" search at SCImago Journal & Country Rank (SJR). A few examples of the titles you will find accessible at Bates are listed below:

Annual Review of Earth and Planetary Sciences
Covers significant developments in all areas of earth and planetary sciences, from climate, environment, and geological hazards to the formation of planets and the evolution of life.
Access: 1973 to present.
Journal of Climate
Climate research concerned with large-scale variability of the atmosphere, oceans, and land surface, including the cryosphere; past, present and projected future changes in the climate system (including those caused by human activities); climate simulation and prediction.
Access: 01/01/1988 to present.
Earth-science Reviews
Earth Science Reviews publishes review articles dealing with all aspects of Earth Sciences. Every review article published will advance existing knowledge and highlight new directions being taken at the forefront of expanding subject areas by synthesis, evaluation and discussion of previously published literature.
Access: 01/01/1979 to present.
Geology
Geology, published since 1973, features rapid publication of about 23 refereed short (four-page) papers each month. Articles cover all earth-science disciplines and include new investigations and provocative topics. Professional geologists and university-level students in the earth sciences use this widely read journal to keep up with scientific research trends. [From the publisher.]
Access: 9/1/1973 to present.
Geological Society of America Bulletin
The GSA Bulletin is the Society's premier scholarly journal, published continuously since 1890. Fully refereed, each bimonthly issue includes 16–20 papers reporting major research in the traditional, documented, research-paper style. Topics cover the entire range of the earth sciences.
Access: 1961 to present.

Geological Surveys and Associations

Local and National Geological Surveys and Associations

International List of Country Geological Surveys
Maintained by OneGeology.
Geological Society of America
Provides access to resources essential for the professional growth of earth scientists at all levels of expertise and from all sectors: academic, government, business, and industry.
U. S. Geological Survey (USGS)
The USGS site offers a list of ONLINE Books and Other Publications. For access to many historical USGS technical reports, try the Technical Report Archive & Image Library (TRAIL).
Association of American State Geologists
Links to state geological surveys.
Maine Geological Survey
The publications page includes indexes of publications by towns and quadrangles and also a topographic map index.

Maps and Mapping

EACS Map Resources

USGS National Geologic Map Database
Indexing and access to over 90,000 maps and geospatial coordinate data sets from US and State geological surveys.
Search content by Keyword(s), Author or Map Number. Limit searches by selected themes such as Geologic, Geophysical, Marine, Resource and/or Hazard type. Identify maps and publications associated with a region of interest selected on a zoomable dynamic map. Limit map or publication type by publisher (i.e. USGS, State GS, Societies, Universites, etc.).
USGS Historical Topographic Map Explorer
Click on a location to see available topographic maps.

USGS Topographic Maps This link opens in a new window
Downloadable topographic maps.

Historical Sea Ice Atlas
Funded by the Alaska Ocean Observing System (AOOS), the Alaska Center for Climate Assessment and Policy (ACCAP), and the Scenarios Network for Alaska and Arctic Planning (SNAP).
more...less...
Data obtained from Arctic Climate System Study (ACSYS), Brian Hill Collection, Danish Meteorological Institute (DMI), Arctic and Antarctic Research Institute (AARI), NSIDC Bill Dehn Data Collection, Walsh and Johnson/Navy-NOAA Joint Ice Center, Naval Oceanographic Office (NAVOCEANO), Japan Meteorological Agency, Navy-NOAA Joint Ice Center Climatology and NSIDC Nimbus-7 SMMR Arctic Sea Ice Concentrations.

EACS Mapping Resources

Basic Geological Mapping by Richard J. Lisle; Peter Brabham; John W. Barnes
Published: 2011-09-13
Basic Geological Mapping (5th Edition) provides all the necessary practical information and techniques needed for carrying out work in the field, covering a wide spectrum of different conditions, needs and types of countries. This edition covers new developments in technology including Google Earth and the use of GPS. This is an ideal field guide to geological mapping for 2nd/3rd year undergraduates of Geology, Hydrogeology and Geological Engineering.

Hard to Find EACS Publications

Geological Society of America Field Guides
GSA's peer-reviewed Field Guide series features guides from field trips held at GSA meetings and those of other organizations. GSA Field Guides are provided here in PDF format and the well-illustrated paper within include detailed road logs and maps.
Access: 1999 to present.
Special Papers. Geological Society of America
(Online: 1934 - Present)
Special Papers. Geological Society of America
(Bookstacks: 1937 - 1987)
If the volume you want has maps, you will probably appreciate looking at a full sized, physical copy. For that, you will want to check the bookstacks!
New England Intercollegiate Geological Conference (NEIGC)
(Online: 1920, 1923, 1925-28, 1931, 1933-41, 1946-49, 1951-54, 1956, 1958-61, 1963-66, 1968-76, 1980-89)
New England Intercollegiate Geological Conference (NEIGC)
(Bookstacks: 78th (1986) : Lewiston, Maine)
Also available online from the University of New Hampshire Institutional Repository.

USGS Publications Warehouse This link opens in a new window
U. S. Geological Survey publications including Professional Papers, Folios of the Geologic Atlas, the Hydrologic Atlas, Quadrangle Maps and Water Data Reports. Publication dates: 1870 to currentAnnual Report
Antarctic Map
Bulletin
Circular
Circum-Pacific Map
Coal Map
Data Series
Fact Sheet
Folios of the Geologic Atlas
Geologic Quadrangle
Geophysical Investigation Map
Hydrologic Atlas
Hydrologic Unit
IMAP
Land Use/ Land Cover
Mineral Commodities Summaries
Mineral Investigations Resource Map
Field Studies Map
Missouri Basin Study
Oil and Gas Investigation
Professional Paper
Resource Publication
Scientific Investigations Map
Scientific Investigations Report
Techniques and Methods
Techniques of Water-Resource Investigation
Trace Elements Investigations
Trace Elements Memorandum
USGS Unnumbered Series
Water Data Report
Water Supply Paper
Water-Resources Investigations Report
A more complete listing of available USGS publications:
Annual Report
Antarctic Map
Bulletin
Circular
Circum-Pacific Map
Coal Map
Data Series
Fact Sheet
Folios of the Geologic Atlas
General Information Product
Geologic Quadrangle
Geophysical Investigation Map
Hydrologic Atlas
Hydrologic Unit
IMAP
Land Use/ Land Cover
Mineral Commodities Summaries
Mineral Investigations Resource Map
Miscellaneous Field Studies Map
Missouri Basin Study
Monograph
Oil and Gas Investigation Chart
Oil and Gas Investigation Map
Open-File Report
Professional Paper
Resource Publication
Scientific Investigations Map
Scientific Investigations Report
Techniques and Methods
Techniques of Water-Resource Investigation
Trace Elements Investigations
Trace Elements Memorandum
USGS Unnumbered Series
Unclassified
Water Data Report
Water Supply Paper
Water-Resources Investigations Report

EACS Research Online Worksheet

Organizing and directing your research productively can be difficult on larger projects without following an intentional plan. This simple Google Doc is one example of the kinds of things you will want to consider as you collect sources.

To use and/or modify this template, simple make a copy to your own Google Drive and get started!

EACS Research Online Worksheet
Note that this is view only. Save a copy to your Google Drive and then share it with the other members of your group.

Thesis and Capstone Project Resources

Thesis Writer's Libguide

Thesis Writers' Guide
Handy templates and guides on formatting.

Finding previous Bates Thesis and Capstone Projects

Capstone Projects - EACS
Bates Earth and Climate Sciences Department capstone projects including honors and standard theses published from 2011 to present are discoverable electronically on SCARAB.
Honor theses earlier than 2011 can be found in the catalog under the Author "Bates College (Lewiston, Me.). Department of Geology."

Backing Up Your Files Using the Google Drive App

Download the Google Drive App
Safely store your files and access them from any device.
Choose folders on your computer to sync with Google Drive or backup to Google Photos, and access all of your content directly from your PC or Mac.