Research Guides: Earth and Climate Sciences: Getting Started with EACS

Best Bets for EACS

GeoRef This link opens in a new window
Geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses. environmental geology hydrology economic geology geophysics petrology paleontology marine geology oceanography mineralogy
The GeoRef database covers the geology of North America from 1666 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present. The database includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. Masters' theses and doctoral dissertations from U.S. and Canadian universities are also covered. [From the publisher]
GeoScienceWorld This link opens in a new window
Full text articles from all GeoScienceWorld journals. Also searches citations indexed in GeoRef, the most comprehensive bibliographic database in the geosciences. Quickly limit your search area by geographic location using the convenient world map. GeoScience World geo science

Earth Science World Image Bank
Over 6,000 quality geoscience images for the public, educators, and the geoscience community.

Topic Overviews in EACS

Geology and Landscape Evolution: General Principles Applied to the United States (3rd Edition) by Joseph A. DiPietro
Published: 2024
provides an explanation of how landscape forms and how it evolves ...[concentrating] on the origin of the landscape itself, with specific and exhaustive references and examples from across the United States. [From the publisher]
Encyclopedia of Structural Geology and Plate Tectonics by Carl Seyfert (Editor)
Published: 2006
Online access to the Encyclopedia is available here. Note that online access is provided through web browser only. Content is not available for download.
Note that a physical copy of this Encyclopedia is also available in the Bates reference stacks.

Index to Geologic Guidebooks of North America
A searchable index of references to North American geologic field trip guidebooks.
Information includes the content within "The Union List of Geologic Field Trip Guidebooks of North America" (6th edition, 1996). References to select trips post 1996 continue to be added.
Complete description of Geologic Guidebooks Database

Article Databases for EACS

GeoRef This link opens in a new window
Geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses. environmental geology hydrology economic geology geophysics petrology paleontology marine geology oceanography mineralogy
The GeoRef database covers the geology of North America from 1666 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present. The database includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. Masters' theses and doctoral dissertations from U.S. and Canadian universities are also covered. [From the publisher]
GeoScienceWorld This link opens in a new window
Full text articles from all GeoScienceWorld journals. Also searches citations indexed in GeoRef, the most comprehensive bibliographic database in the geosciences. Quickly limit your search area by geographic location using the convenient world map. GeoScience World geo science
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Sciences and social sciences journal article citations. Searchable by author affiliation and citation count.
USGS Publications Warehouse This link opens in a new window
U. S. Geological Survey publications including Professional Papers, Folios of the Geologic Atlas, the Hydrologic Atlas, Quadrangle Maps and Water Data Reports. Publication dates: 1870 to current
A more complete listing of available USGS publications:
Annual Report
Antarctic Map
Bulletin
Circular
Circum-Pacific Map
Coal Map
Data Series
Fact Sheet
Folios of the Geologic Atlas
General Information Product
Geologic Quadrangle
Geophysical Investigation Map
Hydrologic Atlas
Hydrologic Unit
IMAP
Land Use/ Land Cover
Mineral Commodities Summaries
Mineral Investigations Resource Map
Miscellaneous Field Studies Map
Missouri Basin Study
Monograph
Oil and Gas Investigation Chart
Oil and Gas Investigation Map
Open-File Report
Professional Paper
Resource Publication
Scientific Investigations Map
Scientific Investigations Report
Techniques and Methods
Techniques of Water-Resource Investigation
Trace Elements Investigations
Trace Elements Memorandum
USGS Unnumbered Series
Unclassified
Water Data Report
Water Supply Paper
Water-Resources Investigations Report

Top EACS Journals

For help identifying quality, subject-specific journals, check out the "Journal Rankings" search at SCImago Journal & Country Rank (SJR).
A few examples of the titles you will find accessible at Bates are listed below:

Annual Review of Earth and Planetary Sciences
Covers significant developments in all areas of earth and planetary sciences, from climate, environment, and geological hazards to the formation of planets and the evolution of life.
Journal of Climate
Climate research concerned with large-scale variability of the atmosphere, oceans, and land surface, including the cryosphere; past, present and projected future changes in the climate system (including those caused by human activities); climate simulation and prediction.
Earth-science Reviews
Earth Science Reviews publishes review articles dealing with all aspects of Earth Sciences. Every review article published will advance existing knowledge and highlight new directions being taken at the forefront of expanding subject areas by synthesis, evaluation and discussion of previously published literature.
Geology
Articles cover all earth-science disciplines and include new investigations and provocative topics. Professional geologists and university-level students in the earth sciences use this widely read journal to keep up with scientific research trends. [From the publisher.]
Geological Society of America Bulletin
The GSA Bulletin is the Society's premier scholarly journal, published continuously since 1890. Fully refereed, each bimonthly issue includes 16–20 papers reporting major research in the traditional, documented, research-paper style. Topics cover the entire range of the earth sciences.

Try Searching in a Single Journal:

If Bates has access to a specific journal, you can search within it very easily!

From the Ladd Library home page, select the "Journals by Title" link beneath the Library Search box.
On the resulting new page enter the title or ISSN of the journal you want to search.
Select your desired journal from the search results and then use the "Search Inside" box to search for articles within the journal.

Theses and Capstone Project Resources

Capstone Projects - EACS
Bates Earth and Climate Sciences Department capstone projects including honors and standard theses published from 2011 to present are discoverable electronically on SCARAB.
Honor theses earlier than 2011 can be found in the catalog under the Author "Bates College (Lewiston, Me.). Department of Geology."

Science and Data Librarian

Pete Schlax

Contact:

Ladd Library 133
(207) 786-8328
pschlax2@bates.edu

I am usually at the Research Desk Mon. 1-4, Wed. 6-9, and Thurs. 10-1

Subjects: Astronomy, Biology, Chemistry, Digital and Computational Studies, Earth and Climate Sciences, Environmental Studies, Mathematics, Neuroscience, Physics