Research Guides: *European Studies: Getting Started with European Studies

Best Bets for European Studies

Europeana
An online portal to digitized collections from across Europe. Includes curated collections based on location or event.
EuroDocs: Online Sources for European History
Links connect to European primary historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated. Includes video or sound files, maps, photographs or other imagery, databases, and other documentation.
The European Library
An online portal offers quick and easy access to the collections of the 48 National Libraries of Europe and leading European Research Libraries.

Topic Overviews in European Studies

These are two excellent reference sources for European Studies, available as ebooks:

One Europe, Many Nations by James B. Minahan
Location: ebook
Focusing on the many possible conflicts that dot the European landscape, this book is the first to address the Europeans as distinct national groups, not as nation-states and national minorities.
Routledge Handbook of European Politics by José M. Magone (Editor)
Location: Available online.
Published: 2014

Article Databases for European Studies

These are all good places to look for peer-reviewed articles on European Studies. Include the region or nation you are searching for to narrow down results by location.

Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
World history (except U.S. and Canada) journal articles. Historical period: 1450 to present. Publication dates: 1954 to present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Humanities, social sciences, and science full text journals. Recent years not included.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Full-text scholarly journals. Publication dates: mostly 1960 to present (some earlier)

Top European Studies Journals

A short description of the top journals in [Subject], this text box is optional.

European Studies Journals at Bates
An extensive list of European Studies journals accessible through Bates College, including business, economics, international relations, history and cultural journals from across Europe.
European Journal of Political Research
This journal is known for its rigorous research on European politics, including comparative politics, political behavior, and institutional analysis. As a Bates student or faculty member, you are welcome to use Wiley tokens to access articles from this journal.
West European Politics
Includes in-depth analysis and research on institutions, parties, and policy in the political systems of Western Europe.

News Sources in European Studies

These newspaper databases include news from around Europe, and offer excellent coverage of contemporary and historical issues in European Studies.

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Full text news coverage from around the world, searchable by country, including coverage of all of Europe.
Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window
An excellent international and European news resource, including newspapers, broadcast transcripts, wire service reports from 1977 to present.

European Studies Librarian

Marianne Williams

she/her

Contact:

Ladd Library 131
(207) 786-8323
mwillia8@bates.edu

I am usually at the Research Desk Mon. 6-9, Tues. 1-4, and Wed. 10-1

Subjects: Art and Visual Culture, Classical and Medieval Studies, English, European Studies, French, Gender and Sexuality Studies, German, Greek (Ancient), Hispanic Studies, Languages and Literatures, Latin American and Latinx Studies, Russian