Research Guides: *Education: EDSO 242

Article Indexes

America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Search education as a subject, combined with group of interest.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
Search "educational history" in quotes.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Humanities, social sciences, and science full text journals. Recent years not included.

Useful subject headings

These are Library of Congress subject headings that you can use to search L ibrarySearch more effectively.

Hispanic American -- Education -- History
Remember that relevant books might be found under ethnic/racial groups that are more or less specific; e.g. Hispanic American vs. Mexican American
African Americans -- Education
Likewise, find similar subjects by ethnic/racial group + education.
Indians of North America -- Education -- History
Add history to the end of the subject for narrower results.
African American children
You may also find information about schools in books about childhood more broadly.
World War, 1939-1945 -- Children
Some books will be found associated with a historical event.
Subject contains (japanese AND american*) AND Subject contains (education OR children) AND Subject contains ("world war" OR history)
The Advanced Search in LibrarySearch can help you thoughtfully combine subjects.
Off-reservation boarding schools
Certain kinds of schools may have their own subject headings.

Getting Started

Oxford Bibliographies
Search to find recommended sources on scholarly topics. Most bibliographies include textbooks and general introductions.

Oxford African American Studies Center This link opens in a new window
Search for entries on education and schools.
Limited to one user at a time.

Relevant journals in educational history

It's not necessary to search specific journals directly, because databases like ERIC and America: History and Life will let you search all of them at once, but browsing can be helpful for inspiration. The links below will take you to ERIC results for each journal, and individual articles will have links to full text.

History of Education Quarterly
History of Education
American Educational History Journal
Bates doesn't have a subscription to this one, but from this link to ERIC, you can make interlibrary loan requests.
Historical Studies in Education
Canadian emphasis.
Paedagogica Historica: International Journal of the History of Education
Urban Education
Teachers College Record
Bates has online access to issues from 1900 to 1998, for more recent articles, use interlibrary loan.

Examples of relevant books

These are just examples of books from LibrarySearch that may be useful to some of you. It's not a comprehensive list, of course, but if you click on the link, you will see Library of Congress subject headings that may help you find related books.