Skip to Main Content

*Economics

Best Bets for Economics

EconLit This link opens in a new window
Economics journal article and working paper abstracts. econ lit

Stata Guide
The basics of Stata for econ students.

Topic Overviews

Journal of Economic Perspectives
Published by the American Economic Association, this journal summarizes economic research on current topics in accessible language.
Handbooks in Economics series
Authoritative essays on major fields of economics, such as health economics, etc.
Journal of Economic Surveys
Review essays on developments in all fields of economics.

The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics
Location: Available online
Published: 2008
International Encyclopedia of Social and Behavioral Sciences
Location: Available online.
Essays with bibliographies on topic in economics and other social sciences.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History
Location: Available online.
Published: 2003
The Princeton Encyclopedia of the World Economy
Location: Available online
Published: 2009

Article Databases

EconLit This link opens in a new window
Economics journals.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Science and social science journals.

Working Papers

NBER Working Papers This link opens in a new window Economic research, National Bureau of Economic Research. Publication dates: 1973 to present
EconPapers This link opens in a new window Working papers in economics.
Social Science Research Network (SSRN) This link opens in a new window Working papers in the social sciences. Publication dates: 1997 to the present.

News Sources

Wall Street Journal

New York Times (1980-current) This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Bloomberg.com This link opens in a new window
Ask at the Research Desk for log on.
Economist.com This link opens in a new window
Online full-text. Publication dates: July 19,1997 to present. Ask for logon at Research Desk.

Writing Papers

Writing Economics
Tricks of the econ paper writing trade, from Duke Writing Program.
Writing Economics: A Guide for Harvard Economics Concentrators
Notation Guide
Some conventions for representing models.

Social Science Librarian

Christine Murray

Contact:

Ladd Library 132
(207) 786-6268
cmurray2@bates.edu

I am usually at the Research Desk Mon. 10-1, Tues. 6-9, and Thurs. 1-4

Subjects: African Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Chinese, Economics, Environmental Studies, History, Japanese, Languages and Literatures, Legal Studies, Politics, Psychology, Sociology, U. S. History