Computer Programming Library Resources

This textbook...covers deterministic methods and those that incorporate uncertainty, problems in discrete and continuous time, probability, graphing and data analysis, matrix modeling, difference equations, differential equations, and much more. The book uses MATLAB throughout, explaining how to use it, write code, and connect models to data in examples chosen from across the life sciences. Provides undergraduate life science students with a succinct overview of major mathematical concepts that are essential for modern biology Covers all the major quantitative concepts that national reports have identified as the ideal components of an entry-level course for life science students Provides good background for the MCAT, which now includes data-based and statistical reasoning Explicitly links data and math modeling Includes end-of-chapter homework problems, end-of-unit student projects, and select answers to homework problems Uses MATLAB throughout, and MATLAB m-files with an R supplement are available online Prepares students to read with comprehension the growing quantitative literature across the life sciences Forthcoming online answer key, solution guide, and illustration package (available to professors).

"This book provides visualizations of many topics in general physics. The aim is to have an interactive MATLAB script wherein the user can vary parameters in a specific problem and then immediately see the outcome by way of dynamic "movies" of the response of the system in question. MATLAB tools are used throughout and the software scripts accompany the text in symbolic mathematics, classical mechanics, electromagnetism, waves and optics, gases and fluid flow, quantum mechanics, special and general relativity, and astrophysics and cosmology. The emphasis is on building up an intuition by running many different parametric choices chosen actively by the user and watching the subsequent behavior of the system."

The book has two aims: to introduce basic concepts of environmental modelling and to facilitate the application of the concepts using modern numerical tools such as MATLAB. It is targeted at all natural scientists dealing with the environment: process and chemical engineers, physicists, chemists, biologists, biochemists, hydrogeologists, geochemists and ecologists.

Engineering mechanics involves the development of mathematical models of the physical world. Statics addresses the forces acting on and in mechanical objects and systems. Statics with MATLAB(R) develops an understanding of the mechanical behavior of complex engineering structures and components using MATLAB(R) to execute numerical calculations and to facilitate analytical calculations. MATLAB(R) is presented and introduced as a highly convenient tool to solve problems for theory and applications in statics.

Scientific computing is the study of how to use computers effectively to solve problems that arise from the mathematical modeling of phenomena in science and engineering. It is based on mathematics, numerical and symbolic/algebraic computations and visualization. This book serves as an introduction to both the theory and practice of scientific computing, with each chapter presenting the basic algorithms that serve as the workhorses of many scientific codes; we explain both the theory behind these algorithms and how they must be implemented in order to work reliably in finite-precision arithmetic. The book includes many programs written in Matlab and Maple - Maple is often used to derive numerical algorithms, whereas Matlab is used to implement them. The theory is developed in such a way that students can learn by themselves as they work through the text. Each chapter contains numerous examples and problems to help readers understand the material "hands-on".

Assuming no prior background in linear algebra or real analysis, An Introduction to MATLAB® Programming and Numerical Methods for Engineers enables you to develop good computational problem solving techniques through the use of numerical methods and the MATLAB® programming environment. Part One introduces fundamental programming concepts, using simple examples to put new concepts quickly into practice. Part Two covers the fundamentals of algorithms and numerical analysis at a level allowing you to quickly apply results in practical settings.

Numerical derivatives and integrals are derived and illustrated. Includes log-log plots with further examples of their use. Discusses new datasets on precipitation and stream flow. Topical enhancement applies the chi-squared test to the results of the generalized least squares method. New coverage of cluster analysis and approximation techniques that are widely applied in data analysis, including Taylor Series and low-order polynomial approximations; non-linear least-squares with Newton's method; and pre-calculation and updating techniques applicable to real time data acquisition. [From the publisher]

The book introduces some of the most important methods of data analysis employed in earth sciences and illustrates their use through examples using the MATLAB® software package, including basic statistics for univariate, bivariate and multivariate datasets, time-series analysis, signal processing, the analysis of spatial and directional data, and image analysis. The book also includes numerous examples demonstrating how MATLAB can be used on datasets from the earth sciences. The supplementary electronic material (available online through SpringerLink) contains recipes that include all the MATLAB commands featured in the book and the sample data.