It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
*Astronomy: Astronomy and Astrophysics Research Tools
ScopusThis link opens in a new windowSciences and social sciences journal articles. CogPrints
US Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO)
European Patent Office
Japan Patent Office
World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO)
UK Intellectual Property Office
SCOPUS offers coverage from 14,000 peer-reviewed titles from over 4,000 international publishers including 531 Open Access journals. in addition Scopus offers coverage of relevant scientific information on the Web, including author homepages, university sites, corporate information and other resources such as Preprint servers, CogPrints, ArXiv.org, OAI compliant resources, as well as the US Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO), the European Patent Office, the Japan Patent Office, the World Intellectual Property Organization and the UK Intellectual Property Office.
NASA Astrophysics Data SystemThis link opens in a new windowThree bibliographic databases containing more than 11.5 million records covering publications in Astronomy and Astrophysics, Physics, and the arXiv e-prints.
arXivThis link opens in a new windowE-print service in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance and statistics. Not peer-reviewed.
Appearance of a paper is not intended in any way to convey tacit approval of its assumptions, methods, or conclusions by any agent (electronic, mechanical, or other). In other words, these articles are not necessarily subjected to the traditional model of "peer review."
SpringerLinkThis link opens in a new windowAcademic books in natural sciences, social sciences, computer programming and mathematics. Coverage: 2008-present.
Note that almost any SpringerLink book in our catalog can be purchased as a "print on demand", grayscale copy for $24.99. This price includes shipping to anywhere within the continental United States.
Google ScholarThis link opens in a new windowArticles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions. Includes "Cited By" link when a work has been cited.
From academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
A showcase of the Seth MacFarlane Collection of the Carl Sagan and Ann Druyan Archive created by the Library of Congress (LOC). This collection is organized in three parts: The Cosmos: Its Structure and Historical Models, Life on Other Worlds: History of the Possibility and Carl Sagan and the Tradition of Science). Collection items are from the Sagan/Druyan Archive as well as the LOC digital collection.
The Fundamentals of Modern Astrophysics provides an overview of the modern science of astrophysics. It covers the Sun, Solar System bodies, exoplanets, stars, and star life cycle, planetary systems origin and evolution, basics of astrobiology, our galaxy the Milky Way, other galaxies and galactic clusters, a general view of the Universe, its structure, evolution and fate, modern views and advanced models of cosmology as well as the synergy of micro- and macro physics, standard model, superstring theory, multiversity and worm holes. The main concepts of modern astrophysics and prospects for future studies are accompanied by numerous illustrations and a summary of the advanced projects at various astronomical facilities and space missions. Dr. Marov guides readers through a maze of complicated topics to demystify the field and open its wonders to all.
Grabbing the attention of poets, politicians and the general public alike, a series of spectacular astronomical events in the late 1800s galvanized Americans to take a greater interest in astronomy than ever before. At a time when the sciences were not yet as well established in the United States as they were in Europe, this public interest and support provided the growing scientific community in the United States with the platform they needed to advance the field of astronomy in the United States. Earlier in the 19th century comets, meteors and the discovery of the planet Neptune were all sources of inspiration to the general public. The specific events to be considered here are the total solar eclipses of 1868, 1869 and 1878 and the transits of Venus of 1874 and 1882. The available media responded to public interest as well as generating more interest. These events laid the groundwork that led to today's thriving network of American amateur astronomers and provide a fascinating look at earlier conceptions of the stars.
"Basic Concepts in Physics: From the Cosmos to Quarks" gives an accessible and eminently readable introduction to all the main ideas of modern physics. The first five chapters are devoted to classical physics, from planetary motion to special relativity, always keeping in mind its relevance to questions of contemporary interest. The next six chapters deal mainly with newer developments in physics, from quantum theory and general relativity to grand unified theories, and the book concludes by discussing the role of physics in living systems. A basic grounding in mathematics is required of the reader, but technicalities are avoided as far as possible; thus complex calculations are omitted so long as the essential ideas remain clear.
This book is for the amateur astronomer who wants to know about the astrophysical nature of deep sky objects. The information is presented in a concise format and is equally valuable when used as background reading or, alternatively, at the telescope eyepiece. Coverage here is limited to approximately 500 of the most commonly observed objects in the Northern Hemisphere and - an enhancement for the Second Edition - approximately 50 of those in the Southern Hemisphere. These are visible from the southern limits of the United States as well as from the southern continents.
Viewing and Imaging the Solar System: A Guide for Amateur Astronomers is for those who want to develop their ability to observe and image Solar System objects, including the planets and moons, the Sun, and comets and asteroids. This book is designed to show amateur astronomers, in a relatively light-hearted--and math-free way--how to become serious.
Camille Flammarion (1842-1925) is considered France's greatest popularizer of astronomy, with over 60 titles to his credit. In 1892, he published his masterpiece, La Planete Mars et ses conditions d'habitabilite, a comprehensive summary of three centuries' worth of literature on Mars, much of it based on his own personal research into rare memoirs and archives. As a history of that era, it has never been surpassed, and remains one of a handful of indispensable books on the red planet. Sir Patrick Moore (1923-2012) produced a typescript of Flammarion's classic in 1980. In 1993, he passed the torch of keeping the project alive to a friend, the amateur astronomer and author William Sheehan who was widely regarded as a leading historian of the planet Mars. Here results a book that remains an invaluable resource and is also a literary tour-de-force, in which the inimitable style of Flammarion has been rendered in the equally unique style of Moore.
Cassini-Huygens was the most ambitious and successful space journey ever launched to the outer Solar System. This book examines all aspects of the journey: its conception and planning; the lengthy political processes needed to make it a reality; the engineering and development required to build the spacecraft; its 2.2-billion mile journey from Earth to the Ringed Planet and the amazing discoveries from the mission. A small satellite that scientists once thought of as a dead piece of rock turned out to contain a warm underground sea that could conceivably harbor life. And we now know that hiding under the mist of Saturn's largest moon, Titan, is a world with lakes, fluvial channels, and dunes hauntingly reminiscent of those on our own planet, except that on Titan, it's not water that fills those lakes but hydrocarbons. These and other breakthroughs illustrate why the Cassini-Huygens mission will be remembered as one of greatest voyages of discovery ever made.
Astronomy and Astrophysics Journals Available through Ladd Library:
Scholarly Review Articles:
These collections of Annual Reviews can be a great place to start your exploration of a topic.
Covers the significant developments in the field of Astronomy and Astrophysics, including: the sun; solar system and extrasolar planets; stars; the interstellar medium; galaxy and galaxies; active galactic nuclei; cosmology; and instrumentation and techniques, and the history of the development of new areas of research.
Access: 1963 to present.
Covers significant developments in all areas of earth and planetary sciences, from climate, environment, and geological hazards to the formation of planets and the evolution of life.
Access: 1973 to present.
Scholarly and Peer Reviewed:
Searching within these individual journals can be a great place to look for primary astronomical literature.
The AJ publishes original astronomical research, with an emphasis on significant scientific results derived from observations, including descriptions of data capture, surveys, analysis techniques, and astrophysical interpretation. It takes a broad view of astronomy, extending from the solar system to observational cosmology with a tradition of papers discussing dynamical processes.
Access: 1967 to 1997 (Bates Print) and 01/01/1998 to present.
Invited reviews by leading experts on all areas of astronomy and astrophysics; cosmic ray physics; studies in the solar system; astrobiology; developments in laboratory or particle physics directly relevant to astronomy; instrumentation; computational or statistical methods with specific astronomical applications.
Access: 04/01/1989 to present.
he Astrophysical Journal is the foremost research journal in the world devoted to recent developments, discoveries, and theories in astronomy and astrophysics. Many of the classic discoveries of the twentieth century have first been reported in the Journal.
Access: 1965 to present.
See also: Astrophysical journal. Letters and Astrophysical journal. Supplement series.
Articles on subjects ranging from star and planet formation and the origin and evolution of the solar and extra-solar planetary systems, to asteroids, comets, meteoroids and near-Earth objects, including the terrestrial impact hazard and solar system - terrestrial relationships, and related topics. Coverage is concerned with the physical and chemical properties of the material constitution of these bodies, including chaotic behavior.
Access: 01/01/1997 to present.
Coverage includes cosmic prebiotic chemistry, planetary evolution, the search for planetary systems and habitable zones, extremophile biology and experimental simulation of extraterrestrial environments, Mars as an abode of life, life detection in our solar system and beyond, the search for extraterrestrial intelligence, the history of the science of astrobiology, as well as societal and educational aspects of astrobiology.
Access: 01/01/2002 to present.
Sky & Telescope is the premier showcase for lively, authoritative, and well-illustrated information about the science and hobby of astronomy. The magazine also serves as a major avenue of communication between amateur and professional astronomers worldwide.
Access: 01/01/1950 to present.
The world's best-selling astronomy magazine, Astronomy includes expert science reporting, vivid color photography, complete sky-event coverage, spot-on observing tips, informative telescope reviews, and more.
Access: 1973 to present.