Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) This link opens in a new window
Humanities and social sciences articles and book chapters on East, Southeast, and South Asia, in Western languages. Publication dates: 1971 to the present.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Modern literature, language, linguistics, and folklore journal articles and books. Citations with links to full text. Publication dates: 1926 to present
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Full-text scholarly journals. Publication dates: mostly 1960 to present (some earlier)
Atla Religion Database This link opens in a new window
Religious studies journal articles, essays, and book reviews. Publication dates: 1949 to present ATLA
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Humanities, social sciences, and science full text journals. Recent years not included.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
World history (except U.S. and Canada) journal articles. Historical coverage: 1450 to present. Publication dates: 1954 to present.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Sociology journal articles. Publication dates: 1895-present soc index
Getting Started with a Topic
Comprehensive website sponsored by the Asia Society; a wealth of resources here on arts and culture, business and economics, policy and government, society and history.
Digital South Asia Library
The Digital South Asia Library provides digital materials for reference and research on South Asia, from Columbia and the University of Chicago.
Subjects: African Studies
, Asian Studies
, Environmental Studies
, Languages and Literatures
, Legal Studies
, U. S. History